carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Kevin Rolland: Already back despite his dramatic accident

10 months ago, French freestyle ski star Kevin Rolland suffered a dramatic fall during a world record attempt in a quarter-pipe. He is back in great shape, and gives news on social networks from his stronghold in La Plagne.

Le Savoyard Kevin rolland is a freestyle and acrobatic skier talented. Olympic medalist in Sochi by winning bronze, world half-pipe champion in 2009, three-time winner of the X Games in Aspen in super-pipe, the record of this young thirty-something is remarkable. But on May 2, 2019, the dream came to an abrupt end. Kevin is admitted to Grenoble University Hospital after a terrible fall stopping him dead while he was trying to beat the world record for jumping on a quarter-pipe at his home in La Plagne. A terrible shock for his family, his relatives and all his many fans who came to encourage him.

An accident with dramatic consequences

Fractured pelvis and ribs, lungs and pancreas affected, Kevin could well have lost his life just a week before becoming a dad. He confided in the newspaper L'Équipe on this subject.

“I didn't know if I was going to be able to ski again but it was the happiest two weeks of my life. I was full of motivation to take care of my son. "

Kevin Rolland's unexpected return to the slopes of La Plagne

But the story did not end there. Coma, operations, rehabilitation… Long months of patience and efforts which have finally borne fruit. A few weeks ago, Kevin was back on the slopes of La Plagne and shared his joy with his followers.

"Here is the end of rehabilitation as I like them 🙂 These last days I have skied a lot at home in La Plagne and I feel great 🙂 I will build up pressure week after week and I will show you my progress in a small series of episodes which will be called 'One minute please'. "

If nothing is done yet, Kevin sometimes thinks of the Beijing Olympics in 2022, but it will not be "at all costs", as he declares in the team newspaper.

“I am going to enter the phase of becoming a top athlete again […] As for the Olympics, it's in the head but not at all costs. Afterwards, if I am able to win a medal, I will not deprive myself of it. "

The future will therefore be played out at the Olympics or as part of a professional retraining. Case to be continued!… Anyway, Kevin has found his balance within his family, and that… It is priceless!

Kevin Rolland : Déjà de retour malgré son dramatique accident

Il y a 10 mois, la star française du ski freestyle Kevin Rolland, faisait une dramatique chute lors d’une tentative de record du monde en quater-pipe. Il est de retour en pleine forme, et donne des nouvelles sur les réseaux sociaux depuis son fief à La Plagne.

Le savoyard Kevin Rolland est un skieur freestyle et acrobatique de talent. Médaillé olympique à Sotchi en décrochant le bronze, champion du monde de half-pipe en 2009, trois fois vainqueur des X Games de Aspen en super-pipe, le palmarès de ce jeune trentenaire est remarquable. Mais le 2 mai 2019, le rêve s’interrompt brutalement. Kevin est admis au CHU de Grenoble après une terrible chute le stoppant net alors qu’il tentait de battre le record du monde de saut sur un quater-pipe chez lui, à La Plagne. Un terrible choc pour sa famille, ses proches et tous ses nombreux fans venus l’encourager.

Un accident aux conséquences dramatiques

Fracture du bassin et des côtes, poumons et pancréas touchés, Kevin aurait bien pu perdre la vie une semaine seulement avant de devenir papa. Il s’est confié à ce sujet au journal l’Équipe.

“Je ne savais pas si j’allais pouvoir skier à nouveau mais ç’a été les deux semaines où j’ai été le plus heureux de ma vie. J’étais plein de motivation pour m’occuper de mon fils.”

Un retour inespéré sur les pistes de La Plagne

Mais l’histoire ne s’est pas arrêtée là. Coma, opérations, rééducation… De longs mois de patience et d’efforts qui ont finalement porté du fruit. Il y a quelques semaines, Kevin était de retour sur les pistes de La Plagne et partageait sa joie avec ses followers.

“Voilà une fin de rééducation comme je les aime 🙂 Ces derniers jours j’ai beaucoup skié chez moi à La Plagne et je me sens super bien 🙂 Je vais monter en pression semaines après semaines et je vais vous faire découvrir mon évolution dans une petite série d’épisodes qui vont s’appeler ‘One minute please’.”

Si rien n’est encore fait, Kevin pense parfois aux Jeux Olympiques de Pékin en 2022, mais ce ne sera “pas à tout prix”, comme il le déclare au journal l’Équipe.

“Je vais entrer dans la phase de redevenir athlète de haut niveau […] Quant aux JO, c’est dans la tête mais pas à tout prix. Après, si je suis capable de décrocher une médaille, je ne vais pas m’en priver.”

L’avenir se jouera donc aux JO ou dans le cadre d’une reconversion professionnelle. Affaire à suivre !… Quoiqu’il en soit, Kevin a trouvé son équilibre au sein de sa famille, et ça… Ça n’a pas de prix !

La rédaction