carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Katie Schide and Germain Grangier join Cervinia to Chamonix via Breithorn and Mont-Blanc!

Trail runners around the world are constantly pushing the limits. And it is the turn of the Franco-American couple formed by Katie Schide and Germain Grangier, to achieve an extraordinary feat. The lovers joined Cervinia in Chamonix, on a route of 188 kilometers and 13 meters of elevation gain. A challenge won in just 500 and a half days.

Lhe trail is freedom. Freedom to go where and when you want. Freedom to push your limits and to break records that will not always be approved. The personal challenges faced by the athletes rival the records set in major competitions. Leaving Cervinia in mid-July, Katie Schide and Germain Grangier just wanted to live "An intimate adventure" and "to return to the sources of their love for the great outdoors, to be attentive to the mountains, their capacities, the risks and the need to constantly adapt".

By carrying out this ultra-trail on the roof of Europe, marmots " Katie and Germain once again showed the beauty of this light and airy discipline.

“Adventure and exploration to share as a couple, to meet new massifs, as a simple endurance challenge. "

See this post on Instagram

A publication shared by GERMAIN GRANGIER (@germaingrangier) le

Always further, always higher

From Cervinia in Italy on July 19, the “Marmottes” ultra-trail was completely crazy. They chained an ascent of the Breithorn at an altitude of more than 4 meters, before taking the the Haute-Route, and of climb Mont-Blanc! They arrived at the end of their journey on July 23, happy to have fulfilled their objective, which was nothing other than "to share together magnificent and long days in the mountains"!

“It was a pleasant feeling to see the summit of Mont-Blanc, the adventure was almost over! […] We were, really, really happy. The lights were crazy and the conditions were perfect, clear and windless. Onward, we made our way to the top without having time to stop for an omelet at the hut. "

See this post on Instagram

A publication shared by GERMAIN GRANGIER (@germaingrangier) le

About Katie Schide and Germain Grangier

Katie and Germain are two lovers of the outdoors and the mountains and seasoned athletes. Both geologists by training, these two sportsmen gathered around their common passions for running, mountains and nature. They are illustrated on the UTMB, the Maxi Race of Annecy or the Transrockies Run. Katie enjoys spending long days traversing the mountains on foot, on skis or by bike. She likes to "draw lines on maps and then see where her body can take her." Germain's favorite playground is the Mercantour park. Originally from the Alpes Maritimes, he always returns to his stronghold after the competitions. For him, the ultra-trail is "the easiest and fastest way to get around difficult terrain and to draw your own lines towards ridges and summits".

See this post on Instagram

A post shared by Katie Schide (@katieschide) le

New challenges ahead

This year, the Marmots will be present at Sierre-Zinal in Switzerland on September 12, and on the Grand Raid of Reunion, on October 15th. But beyond the records, it is the sensations, the discovery of wild nature and the sunrises that motivate these two lovers of the great outdoors.

“Now I have lots of other ideas and motivation to go back to some of the places we've been through, to spend more time looking for sunrises like this. "

See this post on Instagram

A post shared by Katie Schide (@katieschide) le

Featured image credit: Germain grangier, published with kind permission

Katie Schide et Germain Grangier rallient Cervinia à Chamonix via le Breithorn et le Mont-Blanc !

Les traileurs du monde entier repoussent les limites en permanence. Et c’est au tour du couple franco-américain formé par Katie Schide et Germain Grangier, de réaliser un exploit hors du commun. Les amoureux ont rallié Cervinia à Chamonix, sur un tracé de 188 kilomètres et 13 500 mètres de dénivelé positif. Un défi emporté en seulement 4 jours et demi.

Le trail c’est la liberté. Liberté de partir où on veut et quand on veut. Liberté de repousser ses limites et de faire tomber des records qui ne seront pas toujours homologués. Les défis personnels relevés par les athlètes rivalisent avec les records établis lors des grandes compétitions. En quittant Cervinia mi-juillet, Katie Schide et Germain Grangier souhaitaient simplement vivre “une aventure intimiste” et “revenir aux sources de leur amour pour les grands espaces, être à l’écoute de la montagne, de leurs capacités, des risques et de la nécessité de s’adapter en permanence”.

En réalisant cet ultra-trail sur le toit de l’Europe, les “marmottes” Katie et Germain ont montré une fois de plus la beauté de cette discipline légère et aérienne.

“L’aventure et l’exploration à partager à deux, à la rencontre de nouveaux massifs, comme simple défi d’endurance.”

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

Une publication partagée par GERMAIN GRANGIER (@germaingrangier) le

Toujours plus loin, toujours plus haut

Partis de Cervinia en Italie le 19 juillet dernier, l’ultra-trail des “Marmottes” a été complètement fou. Ils ont enchaîné une ascension du Breithorn à plus de 4 000 mètres d’altitude, avant d’emprunter la Haute-Route, et de gravir le Mont-Blanc ! Ils sont arrivés au terme de leur périple le 23 juillet, heureux d’avoir rempli leur objectif, qui n’était autre que “partager ensemble de magnifiques et longues journées en montagne” !

“C’était une sensation agréable de voir le sommet du Mont-Blanc, l’aventure était presque terminée! […] Nous étions, vraiment, vraiment heureux. Les lumières étaient folles et les conditions étaient parfaites, claires et sans vent. En avant, nous nous sommes dirigés vers le sommet sans avoir le temps de nous arrêter pour une omelette à la cabane.”

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

Une publication partagée par GERMAIN GRANGIER (@germaingrangier) le

Au sujet de Katie Schide et Germain Grangier

Katie et Germain sont deux amoureux de l’outdoor et de la montagne et des athlètes chevronnés. Tous deux géologues de formation, ces deux sportifs se sont retrouvés autour de leurs passions communes pour la course, la montagne et la nature. Ils se sont illustrés sur l’UTMB, la Maxi Race d’Annecy ou le Transrockies Run. Katie aime passer de longues journées à parcourir les montagnes à pied, en ski ou à vélo. Elle aime “tracer des lignes sur des cartes et voir ensuite où son corps peut la mener”. Le terrain de jeu favori de Germain, c’est le parc du Mercantour. Originaire des Alpes Maritimes, il revient toujours sur son fief après les compétitons. Pour lui, l’ultra-trail est “le moyen le plus simple et le plus rapide de se déplacer sur un terrain difficile et de tracer ses propres lignes vers les crêtes et les sommets”.

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

Une publication partagée par Katie Schide (@katieschide) le

De nouveaux défis à venir

Cette année, les Marmottes seront présents à Sierre-Zinal en Suisse le 12 septembre, et sur le Grand Raid de la Réunion, le 15 octobre prochain. Mais au-delà des records, ce sont les sensations, la découverte de la nature sauvage et les levers de soleil qui motivent ces deux amoureux des grands espaces.

“J’ai maintenant plein d’autres idées et de motivation pour retourner dans certains des endroits que nous avons traversés, pour passer plus de temps à chercher des levers de soleil comme celui-ci.”

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

Une publication partagée par Katie Schide (@katieschide) le

La rédaction

Crédit image à la une : Germain Grangier, publiée avec son aimable autorisation