carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Justine Dupont provided the show in the giant waves of Nazaré

Thursday, October 29 at the famous Nazaré spot in Praia do Norte, these are impressive images that wholesale surfers have offered us. Among them, the famous Kai Lenny and the French Justine Dupont once again provided the show. They really pushed the boundaries, during this day that some qualify as historic.

Au Portugal, a hundred kilometers from Lisbon, the Praia do Norte site is now well known to fans of big wave surfers. And in this last week of October, despite a light fog, the conditions were ideal. A breathtaking spectacle was thus offered to spectators from all over Europe. Many of them gathered at the foot of the Nazaré lighthouse, to admire the spectacle offered by the ten extreme surfers, such as Justine Dupont, Kai Lenny, Lucas Chianca or Rodrigo Koxa.

Justine at the top of her game

Who will stop Justine Dupont ? Yet she said she was "deeply hurt" when the record for the biggest wave passed under his nose last September, for the benefit of the Brazilian Maya Gabeira. A decision that she considered "totally unfair" and which earned her the strong support of wholesale surfing enthusiasts across the planet.

“At first I wanted to scream, then cry, but in the end I prefer to keep smiling and my head held high. They won't take away the pride and fun I get from surfing those big waves. "

Justine has been true to her words. After her disappointment, the champion was exceptional on the historic waves of Nazaré at the start of autumn 2020. The proof in pictures.

 
 
 
 
 
See this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Justine dupont (@ justinedupont33)

Storming giant waves

It takes technicality and self-control to attack these waves of more than 20 meters. These followers of the "tow-in" with a steel mind are not lacking. However, they all know that wholesale surfing is above all a team sport. In fact, the jet-ski pilot plays a major role when he tows the surfer on waves that it would be impossible to take with the strength of his arms alone. Justine Dupont also paid tribute to Garrett Mac Namara, considered a surfing legend, but also the best pilot on the Nazaré site.

“I have never seen and felt the ocean with so much power! It is a great honor to have been towed on this bomb by Mr Mac Namara. We've spent so much time in the water the last few days that I'm starting to realize just what happened. Once again a big thank you to all the people who help me and support me from near or far. A big thank you from the bottom of my heart for helping me live my dreams. I'm in the photos, but I wouldn't do anything without the whole team around me. "

Kai Lenny put on the show

And another sportsman provided the show on the waves of Praia. The now living legend Kai Lenny is quite simply in his garden in Nazaré. And he is tireless. Kai chained the waves most of the day. He was finally able to surf "the biggest wave of his life".

 
 
 
 
 
See this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Kai Lenny (@kai_lenny)

An exceptional site

It's hard to believe that this extraordinary big surf spot, where the biggest waves in the world are surfed, is located in Europe. Praia do Norte happens to be on the canyon of Nazaré. This underwater fault of about a hundred kilometers and particularly deep, channels the ocean swell which then suddenly breaks on the coast of Praia do Norte, under the now famous lighthouse of Nazaré.

For the pleasure of the eyes, do not miss this wave of Pedro Scooby captured in Nazaré.

 
 
 
 
 
See this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Red Bull Surfing (@redbull_surfing)

Justine Dupont a assuré le spectacle dans les vagues géantes de Nazaré

Jeudi 29 octobre sur le célèbre spot de Nazaré à Praia do Norte, ce sont des images impressionnantes que nous ont offert les surfeurs de gros. Parmi eux, le célèbre Kai Lenny et la française Justine Dupont ont une fois de plus assuré le show et repoussé les limites, lors de cette journée que certains qualifient d’historique.

Au Portugal, à une centaine de kilomètres de Lisbonne, le site de Praia do Norte est désormais bien connu des fans de surfeurs de grosses vagues. Et en cette dernière semaine d’octobre et malgré un léger brouillard, les conditions y étaient idéales pour offrir un spectacle à couper le souffle aux spectateurs venus de toute l’Europe. Ils étaient d’ailleurs nombreux à se masser au pied du phare de Nazaré, pour admirer le spectacle offert par la dizaine de surfeurs de l’extrême, tels que Justine Dupont, Kai Lenny, Lucas Chianca ou encore Rodrigo Koxa.

Justine au sommet de sa forme

Qui arrêtera Justine Dupont ? Elle se disait pourtant “profondément blessée” quand le record de la plus grosse vague lui est passé sous le nez en septembre dernier, au profit de la brésilienne Maya Gabeira. Une décision qu’elle estimait “totalement injuste” et qui lui a valu le soutien fort des amateurs de surf de gros à travers la planète.

“Au début j’ai eu envie de hurler, puis pleurer mais finalement je préfère garder le sourire et la tête haute. Ils ne m’enlèveront pas la fierté et le plaisir que j’ai à surfer ces grosses vagues.”

Justine a été fidèle à ses paroles. Après sa déception, la championne a été exceptionnelle sur les vagues historiques de Nazaré en ce début d’automne 2020. La preuve en image.

À l’assaut des vagues géantes

Il en faut de la technicité et de la maîtrise de soi pour partir à l’assaut de ces vagues de plus de 20 mètres. Ces adeptes du “tow-in” au mental d’acier n’en manquent pas. Pour autant, ils savent tous que le surf de gros est avant tout un sport d’équipe. En effet, le pilote de jet-ski joue un rôle majeur lorsqu’il tracte le surfeur sur des vagues qu’il serait impossible à prendre à la seule force de ses bras. Justine Dupont a d’ailleurs rendu hommage à Garrett Mac Namara, considéré comme une légende du surf, mais aussi comme le meilleur pilote sur le site de Nazaré.

“Je n’ai jamais vu et ressenti l’océan avec autant de puissance ! C’est un sacré honneur d’avoir été tractée sur cette bombe par Mr Mac Namara. On a passé tellement de temps dans l’eau les derniers jours, que je commence à réaliser juste ce qui s’est passé. Encore une fois un grand merci à toutes les personnes qui m’aident et me soutiennent de près ou de loin. Un grand merci du fond du cœur de m’aider à vivre mes rêves. Je suis sur les photos, mais je ne ferais rien sans toute l’équipe autour de moi.”

Kai Lenny a fait le show

Et un autre sportif a assuré le spectacle sur les vagues de Praia. La désormais légende vivante Kai Lenny est tout simplement dans son jardin à Nazaré. Et il est infatigable. Kai a enchaîné les vagues une grande partie de la journée. Il a finalement pu surfer “la plus grosse vague de sa vie”.

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

Une publication partagée par Kai Lenny (@kai_lenny)

Un site exceptionnel

Difficile de croire que cet extraordinaire spot de surf de gros où sont surfées les plus grosses vagues au monde, se situe en Europe. Il se trouve que Praia do Norte se trouve sur le canyon de Nazaré. Cette faille sous-marine d’une centaine de kilomètres et particulièrement profonde, canalise la houle du large qui déferle ensuite brutalement sur le littoral de Praia do Norte, sous le désormais célèbre phare de Nazaré.

La rédaction

Pour le plaisir des yeux, ne manquez pas cette vague de Pedro Scooby capturée à Nazaré.