carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Isabelle crosses France by bike to raise awareness of endometriosis

“Endo and bike, it's possible! »… This is the message that Isabelle Piercquet, passionate about cycling and suffering from endometriosis, wishes to convey.

Dsince July 17, Isabelle Piercquet set out to travel across France through 12 departments, from his adopted land in Brittany to the Moselle. Its objective is very clear, to raise awareness of endometriosis and the benefits of cycling. She is supported in her initiative by the association Endofrance and the French Cycling Federation.

“The World Health Organization defines health not as the absence of disease but as a resource, physical and mental well-being. A nurse by training, I consider that sport and in particular cycling allows you to do good physically and mentally. "

The yellow ribbon is the European symbol for endometriosis

The yellow ribbon is the European symbol for endometriosis

A story of resilience

When Isabelle discovered cycling, she was suffering from stage 4 endometriosis. The disease had spread to the renal and digestive systems. The pains were intense. From surgeries to treatment attempts, the young woman has finally found a balance. The hormonal treatment taken continuously has borne fruit. But despite his deep desire to bear a child, Isabelle will never become a mother. Cycling, his fulfilling work and his resilience allowed him to go through this terrible ordeal, to live intensely and to always exceed his limits.

“I have noticed how the cycling activity allows me to surpass myself, to also test my limits but above all to realize that movement is vital in this kind of chronic disease. My head and my body were better when I also saw the spirit of solidarity and mutual aid which reigns during the bike rides between enthusiasts of the little queen is important. My plan is to return by bike to my sources. "

A route of more than 700 kilometers

On July 17, Isabelle set off from Chartres de Bretagne. She will join Charlesville-Mézières in his native Ardennes July 28. The first 10 stages will allow her to cover more than 600 kilometers at the end of which she will take a break of a few days. From August 5 to 7, the courageous cycle tourist will cover the last 160 kilometers in the direction of the city of arrival, Metz. Throughout its journey, it will cross Ille et Vilaine, Mayenne, Orne, Eure, Yvelines, Paris, Oise, Aisne, Ardennes, Meuse, Meurthe-et- Moselle and La Moselle.

On the way to Metz

Metz will be the city of arrival

Focus on endometriosis

Endometriosis is a chronic disease that usually comes back. Patients' endometrial tissue grows outside the uterus and is not destroyed by the immune system. It is grafted onto organs and causes lesions, adhesions and ovarian cysts. It can colonize the genitals, the peritoneum, but also the urinary and digestive systems, which causes chronic pain, fatigue, digestive problems or even infertility. According to INSERM, 10% of women have endometriosis. 70% of these women suffer from crippling chronic pain. 40% experience infertility problems. There is no no specific treatment for endometriosis.

“Despite a very large number of cases, this disease dating back a century is still too little known and diagnosed late, with a delay of 7 years on average. "

carte welcome

Avec toute réservation, 1 an d'adhésion offert à la Carte Avantages Welcome.

10 000 offres sport et culture partout en France ainsi que 10% de remise sur vos futures réservations Welcome !

Isabelle traverse la France à vélo pour faire connaître l’endométriose

“Endo et vélo, c’est possible !”… Voilà le message que souhaite faire passer Isabelle Piercquet, passionnée de vélo et atteinte d’endométriose.

Depuis le 17 juillet dernier, Isabelle Piercquet a entrepris de parcourir la France à travers 12 départements, de sa terre d’adoption en Bretagne jusqu’à la Moselle. Son objectif est bien clair, faire connaître l’endométriose et les bienfaits du vélo. Elle est soutenue dans son initiative par l’association Endofrance et la Fédération Française de Cyclotourisme.

“L’Organisation Mondiale de la Santé, définit la santé non pas comme une absence de maladie mais comme une ressource, un bien-être physique et mental. Infirmière de formation, je considère que le sport et notamment le vélo permet de faire du bien physiquement et mentalement.”

Le ruban jaune est le symbole européen de l'endométriose

Le ruban jaune est le symbole européen de l’endométriose

Une histoire de résilience

Quand Isabelle a découvert le vélo, elle souffrait d’une endométriose de stade 4. La maladie avait gagné le système rénal et digestif. Les douleurs étaient intenses. D’interventions chirurgicales en tentatives de traitement, la jeune femme a fini par trouver un équilibre. Le traitement hormonal pris en continu a porté du fruit. Mais malgré son désir profond de porter un enfant, Isabelle ne deviendra jamais maman. Le vélo, son travail épanouissant et sa résilience lui ont permis de traverser cette terrible épreuve, de vivre intensément et de toujours dépasser ses limites.

“J’ai pu remarquer combien l’activité vélo me permet de me dépasser, de tester aussi mes limites mais surtout de m’apercevoir que bouger est vital dans ce genre de maladie chronique. Ma tête et mon corps ont été mieux lorsque j’ai vu aussi l’esprit de solidarité et d’entraide qui règne lors des sorties vélo entre passionnés de la petite reine est important. Mon projet est de retourner en vélo à mes sources.”

Un tracé de plus de 700 kilomètres

Le 17 juillet, Isabelle s’est élancée de Chartres de Bretagne. Elle rejoindra Charlesville-Mézières dans ses Ardennes natales le 28 juillet. Les 10 premières étapes lui permettront de parcourir plus de 600 kilomètres à l’issue desquels elle réalisera une pause de quelques jours. Du 5 au 7 août, la courageuse cyclotouriste parcourra les 160 derniers kilomètres en direction de la ville d’arrivée, Metz. Tout au long de son périple, elle traversera l’Ille et Vilaine, la Mayenne, l’Orne, l’Eure, les Yvelines, Paris, l’Oise, l’Aisne, les Ardennes, la Meuse, la Meurthe-et-Moselle et La Moselle.

En route pour Metz

Metz sera la ville d’arrivée

Zoom sur l’endométriose

L’endométriose est une maladie chronique généralement récidivante. Le tissu endométrial des patientes se développe hors de l’utérus et n’est pas détruit par le système immunitaire. Il se greffe sur les organes et provoque des lésions, des adhérences et des kystes ovariens. Il peut coloniser les organes génitaux, le péritoine, mais aussi les appareils urinaires et digestifs, ce qui engendre des douleurs chroniques, de la fatigue, des troubles digestifs ou encore l’infertilité. Selon l’INSERM, 10% des femmes sont atteintes d’endométriose. 70% de ces femmes souffrent de douleurs chroniques invalidantes. 40% rencontrent des problèmes d’infertilité. Il n’existe aucun traitement spécifique de l’endométriose.

“Malgré un très grand nombre de cas, cette maladie datant d’un siècle est encore trop peu connue et diagnostiquée tardivement, avec un retard de 7 ans en moyenne.”

La rédaction