Big show: A couple of pilots descend the Montaigu peak on mountain bikes

Located in the Hautes-Pyrénées not far from the Pic du midi de Bigorre, the majestic Pic de Montaigu in the Adour valley is particularly popular with hikers and trail runners. But it is with their bikes on their backs that the couple of pilots, Alexis righetty et Fanny Boissieras undertook the ascent, with the goal of a vertiginous and technical descent of the Pic de Montaigu by mountain bike.

Le peak of Montaigu culminates at 2339 meters above sea level. Departing from the Lesponne valley, hikers climb 9 kilometers and 1200 meters of vertical drop in 5 hours to reach the summit which offers the most courageous a breathtaking view of the valley and the Pyrenees. Sunday May 30 in the morning, under a gloomy, cloudy and humid weather, the two courageous ATV riders undertook the ascent and descent which they immortalized in a video.

Alexis righetti He declares himself, he does not "ride a mountain bike", but "ride a mountain bike" ... His goal? “Riding technical and exhibition lines in high mountains, sometimes bordering on mountaineering! »Quite a program for the couple, who once again enthusiastically embarked on a new vertical experience between heaven and earth. As always, the journey was first of all prepared on maps and photos. Alexis knows the Pyrenees well and this knowledge allows him to prepare for the descent on paper before embarking on it.

The Pic de Montaigu by mountain bike: A demanding climb

This Sunday, May 24, the ascent by bike on the back was demanding and technical in a permanent humidity. The two pilots are experienced in exercise and the beauty of the landscapes in forests, along streams or on the edge of high-altitude meadows and snowfields, encourage them to continue their challenge. They meet some admiring hikers and trail runners. Once the sea of ​​clouds has passed, the extraordinary Pyrenean landscapes are gradually revealed. After a short break at the Col de Tos, the team headed for the Lac de Montaigu. More than a few efforts to absorb the last passages which zigzag on the mountainside and which almost require climbing. “Steep but not impassable” according to Alexis. “The Montaigu is aptly named! 2330 meters… Not very high but sharp! "And at the top a hiker amazed to see climbers arriving on their backs, exclaims," ​​There I bow down "...

An impressive descent

After a well-deserved short rest, Alexis and Fanny then finally set out on the west face. "A little violent the start!" »… Certain small passages cannot be crossed by bike, but for the rest, the vertical experience on a very exposed slope will be there. Difficult to start with the more technical parts. Edges, stones, rocks, narrow paths… A fall on such slopes along the cliffs could well be fatal. Back at grassland level, wet grass complicates matters. The ground is slippery. Then a slight hassle in the torrent before the final sprint through the forest. An incredible day, the video story of which is available on Youtube.

Discover Alexis Righetti's video in its entirety:

 

 

Image credit: Wikimedia Edgard Floor / CC BY-SA

Grand spectacle : Un couple de pilotes descend le pic de Montaigu à VTT

Situé dans les Hautes-Pyrénées non loin du pic du midi de Bigorre, le majestueux Pic de Montaigu de la vallée de l’Adour est particulièrement prisé des randonneurs et des traileurs. Mais c’est avec leur vélo sur le dos que le couple de pilotes, Alexis Righetty et Fanny Boissieras ont entrepris l’ascension, avec comme objectif une vertigineuse et technique descente du Pic de Montaigu à VTT.

Le pic de Montaigu culmine à 2339 mètres d’altitude. Au départ de la vallée de Lesponne, les randonneurs gravissent 9 kilomètres et 1200 mètres de dénivelé en 5h30 pour en atteindre le sommet qui offre au plus courageux une vue à couper le souffle sur la vallée et les Pyrénées. Dimanche 24 mai au matin, sous un temps maussade, nuageux et humide, les deux courageux pilotes de VTT ont entrepris l’ascension et la descente qu’ils ont immortalisée dans une vidéo.

Alexis Righetti le déclare lui-même, il ne fait pas “du vélo en montagne”, mais bien de “la montagne à vélo”… Son objectif ? “Rider des lignes techniques et expo en haute montagne, parfois à la limite de l’alpinisme !” Tout un programme pour le couple qui s’est lancé une fois de plus avec enthousiasme dans une nouvelle expérience verticale entre ciel et terre. Comme toujours, le périple a tout d’abord été préparé sur cartes et sur photos. Alexis connaît bien les Pyrénées et cette connaissance lui permet de préparer la descente sur le papier avant de s’y engager.

Une ascension exigeante

Ce dimanche 24 mai, l’ascension vélo sur le dos a été exigeante et technique dans une humidité permanente. Les deux pilotes sont rompus à l’exercice et la beauté des paysages en forêts, le long des ruisseaux ou aux abords des prairies d’altitude et des névés, les encouragent à poursuivre leur défi. Ils croisent quelques randonneurs et traileurs admiratifs. Une fois la mer de nuages dépassée, les extraordinaires paysages pyrénéens se découvrent peu à peu. Après une courte pause au col de Tos, l’équipée fait route vers le lac de Montaigu. Plus que quelques efforts pour absorber les derniers passages qui zigzaguent à flanc de montagne et qui nécessitent presque de l’escalade. “Raide mais pas infranchissable” selon Alexis. “Le Montaigu porte bien son nom ! 2330 mètres… Pas très haut mais pointu !” Et au sommet un randonneur ébahi de voir arriver des grimpeurs vélo sur le dos, s’exclame, “Là je m’incline”…

Une descente impressionnante

Après un court repos bien mérité, Alexis et Fanny se sont ensuite enfin lancés sur la face ouest. “Un peu violent le départ !”… Certains petits passages ne pourront d’ailleurs pas être franchis à vélo, mais pour le reste, l’expérience verticale sur une pente très exposée sera au rendez-vous. Difficile de démarrer par les parties les plus techniques. Arêtes, pierres, rochers, sentiers étroits… Une chute sur de telles pentes le long des falaises pourrait bien être fatale. De retour au niveau des prairies, l’herbe mouillée complique les choses. Le sol est glissant. Puis une légère galère dans le torrent avant le sprint final à travers la forêt. Une incroyable journée, dont le récit en vidéo est disponible sur Youtube.

Découvrez la vidéo d’Alexis Righetti dans son intégralité :

La rédaction

Crédit image : Wikimedia Edgard Floor / CC BY-SA