carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

From La Rochelle to Roscoff, Julien covers 695 kilometers by bike in 2 days!

“To each his own challenge! »Declares Julien rabier at the end of the video of his incredible feat posted on YouTube… For some, the challenge is to run a few kilometers, for others like Julien, it takes a little more. He therefore launched a crazy bet. Connect Roscoff to La Rochelle by bike, and in one go, two days and two nights spent pedaling ...

Julien Rabier is a blogger, content creator and accomplished athlete. Trail, ultra-trail, races over any distance, obstacle courses, raid, cycling ... He is a jack-of-all-trades always ready to take on new challenges. And with his “La Rochelle-Roscoff” in less than 48 hours, he really pushed his physical and mental limits. The 695 kilometers traced along the Vélodyssée were quite simply double the maximum distance already covered. A "stupid idea" he had in mind for 2 years, he announces on YouTube.

“To connect La Rochelle to Roscoff, the principle was to follow mainly the Vélodyssée and therefore to take the famous Canal from Nantes to Brest. About 695 kilometers traveled on my bike in less than 48 hours, all without sleeping but above all while sharing many moments! "

A feat achieved as a team

Because to achieve his feat, Julien was supported by Laurence, Didier, Dorian, Manu, Alain, Jérôme, Jimmy, Olivier and others, who supplied him with supplies or accompanied him for a few kilometers and more. A precious support for the cyclist, who was able to exceed his limits by following in the footsteps of other sportsmen who came to join him for a few hours.

“Thanks to live tracking with GPS tracking, anyone could join me on the course to come ride with me. It was really great ! "

Great, because beyond the physical challenge, the race was played out in the mind. And the presence of friends on the course has often been beneficial. A real human adventure that will remain engraved in our memories. Throughout his Dantesque journey, Julien experienced ups and downs, moments of euphoria and moments of discouragement. On the road, the refueling times were precious. From the cabécou-ham sandwich of the early hours to pasta in the middle of the night, from the hamburger with friends to the bars eaten by the side of the road, Julien sometimes forgot to regain his energy.

A demanding end of the journey

After having driven dozens of kilometers on the roads, paths or towpaths, after crossing rabbits, nutria, cars passing a little too close, after having skirted the Atlantic, the Loire estuary, the canal from Nantes to Brest, after having climbed a steep and sandy slope, passing caravans and seeing the sun rise twice, without ever falling asleep, Julien is exhausted. At the end of the course, his knees made him suffer terribly, morale was at its lowest. However, there are only 30 kilometers left… The longest. In lack of sleep and calories, it will take him 2h30 to cover the last 30 kilometers. And then it is finally the long awaited reward, the arrival in Roscoff after 47 hours 14 minutes and 14 seconds!

" It is done ! I completed my # LR2R after a big 47 hours of walking and 2 sleepless nights. Yes yes, 0 minutes of sleep… I tried well but suddenly it was only short moments with my eyes closed. Now it's beer, pizza and sleep, so in short, tonight I would especially like to thank all the people who took part in this project! "

Don't miss Julien's story on video:

Credit Images: Julien Rabier, with his kind permission.

De La Rochelle à Roscoff, Julien parcourt 695 kilomètres à vélo en 2 jours !

“À chacun son défi !” déclare Julien Rabier à la fin de la vidéo de son incroyable exploit publié sur YouTube… Pour certains, le défi est de courir quelques kilomètres, pour d’autres comme Julien, il en faut un peu plus. Il s’est donc lancé un pari fou. Relier Roscoff à La Rochelle à vélo, et d’une seule traite, soit deux jours et deux nuits passés à pédaler…

Julien Rabier est blogueur, créateur de contenus et sportif accompli. Trail, ultra-trail, courses sur toute distance, courses à obstacles, raid, vélo… Il est un touche-à-tout toujours prêt à relever de nouveaux défis. Et avec son “La Rochelle-Roscoff” en moins de 48 heures, il a réellement repoussé ses limites physiques et mentales. Les 695 kilomètres tracés le long de la Vélodyssée, représentaient tout simplement le double de sa distance maximale déjà parcourue. Une “idée débile” qu’il avait en tête depuis 2 ans, annonce t-il sur YouTube.

“Pour relier La Rochelle à Roscoff, le principe était de suivre principalement la Vélodyssée et donc d’emprunter le fameux Canal de Nantes à Brest. Environ 695 kilomètres parcourus sur mon vélo en moins de 48 heures, le tout sans dormir mais surtout en partageant de nombreux moments !”

Un exploit réalisé en équipe

Car pour réaliser son exploit, Julien a été soutenu par Laurence, Didier, Dorian, Manu, Alain, Jérôme, Jimmy, Olivier et d’autres, qui l’ont ravitaillé ou accompagné sur quelques kilomètres et plus encore. Un précieux soutien pour le cycliste, qui a ainsi pu dépasser ses limites en suivant la trace d’autres sportifs venus le rejoindre pour quelques heures.

“Grâce au suivi live avec tracking GPS, n’importe qui pouvait me rejoindre sur le parcours pour venir rouler avec moi. C’était vraiment génial !”

Génial, car au delà du défi physique, la course s’est jouée au mental. Et la présence d’amis sur le parcours a souvent été salutaire. Une véritable aventure humaine qui restera gravée dans les mémoires. Tout au long de son périple dantesque, Julien a connu des hauts et des bas, des instants d’euphorie et des moments de découragement. Sur la route, les temps de ravitaillement ont été précieux. Du sandwich cabécou-jambon des premières heures aux pâtes en pleine nuit, du hamburger entre amis aux barres avalées sur le bord de la route, Julien a parfois oublié de reprendre de l’énergie.

Une fin de périple exigeante

Après avoir roulé des dizaines de kilomètres sur les routes, les sentiers ou les chemins de halage, après croisé des lapins, des ragondins, des voitures qui passent un peu trop près, après avoir longé l’Atlantique, l’estuaire de la Loire, le canal de Nantes à Brest, après avoir gravi une pente raide et sablonneuse, doubler des roulottes et vu le soleil se lever deux fois, sans jamais trouver le sommeil, Julien est épuisé. À la fin du parcours, ses genoux le font terriblement souffrir, le moral est au plus bas. Il ne reste pourtant que 30 kilomètres… Les plus longs. En manque de sommeil et de calories, il lui faudra 2h30 pour parcourir les 30 derniers kilomètres. Et puis c’est enfin la récompense tant attendue, l’arrivée à Roscoff après 47 heures 14 minutes et 14 secondes !

“C’est fait ! J’ai bouclé mon #LR2R après un gros 47h de balade et 2 nuits blanches. Oui oui, 0 minute de sommeil… J’ai bien essayé mais du coup ça n’aura été que de courts moments les yeux fermés. Maintenant c’est bière, pizza et dodo donc, pour faire court, ce soir je tiens surtout à remercier toutes les personnes qui ont participé à ce projet !”

Ne manquez pas le récit de Julien en vidéo :

La rédaction

Crédit Images : Julien Rabier, avec son aimable autorisation.