carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

High tides: Escape for a weekend of shore fishing

Every year, the high tides of the Atlantic coast bring together on the foreshore fishing enthusiasts. Wrapped up in oilskins and shod in boots, they are recognizable by their buckets, rakes, landing nets and of course by their magnificent catch of the day.

Lhigh tides 2020 are back. With them fishing lovers on foot are out. The last high tides which took place from March 9 to 13 were marked by a high coefficient of 117. In Brittany, Vendée, sur re island and the island of Oléron, in Cap Ferret, in Normandy, in the Basque Country, the collectors were satisfied. And if some people have sometimes returned empty-handed, the pleasure of the moment and the breath of sea air have by themselves largely rewarded their efforts.

What are high tides?

Tides are caused by the combined effect of the gravitational forces of the Moon and the Sun on the seas and oceans. Weather conditions are an amplifying factor. Wind, waves and atmospheric pressure have an effect on the phenomenon. We then speak of a premium or a discount. The lowest tides of the year normally occur at the winter and summer solstices. The strongest occur at the spring and fall equinoxes. The tidal coefficient represents the magnitude of the tide relative to its mean value. It varies between 20 and 120. The higher the tidal coefficient, the more the sea rises high and falls low, and above all more rapidly. High tides are tides with a coefficient greater than 100. These are the ones that best show the foreshore, this very specific biotope sheltering many species.

Shore fishing in Brittany

What to fish on the foreshore?

In the sand, spiders, knives, clams, and the tasty scallop await you. In the rocks, shrimps, currypins, mussels, abalone, sea urchins, cakes and why not lobsters are available to you! It is also possible to cross the road of some fish, such as sole, sea bass or even conger that must be taken with the greatest caution… Finally, it is also the octopus and cuttlefish that make the collectors happy. Something to make you want to put on your boots and set off to conquer our coasts.

And if you missed the high tides of February and March, all is not lost, especially as April promises to be auspicious. The campings close to the beaches are ideal destinations to learn about shore fishing.

Shore fishing practiced by a young boy

Regulation of shore fishing

Recreational sea-shore fishing must be practiced only on foot without any use of a boat or any device allowing to remain submerged, such as a snorkel or bottles. The product of the fishery is intended to be consumed or used as bait, only by the fisherman or his family. Collectors must also find out about minimum sizes and quotas before embarking.

Be sure to find out about tide times available on the website Tides schedule, respect general regulations and read the current prefectural decrees, which sometimes prohibit pickup in certain areas.

Shore fishing in the Atlantic

High tides 2020

  • February, from Monday 10 to Thursday 13 February: maximum coefficient of 108, Tuesday 11 February
  • Mars, from Monday 9 to Friday 13 March: maximum coefficient 117, Wednesday 11 March
  • April, from Tuesday 7 to Saturday 11 April: maximum coefficient 117, Thursday 9 April
  • Mai, from Wednesday 6 to Saturday 9 May: maximum coefficient 108, Thursday 7 May
  • August, from Thursday 20 to Saturday 22 August: maximum coefficient 104, Friday 21 August
  • September, from Thursday September 17 to Monday September 21: maximum coefficient 113, Saturday September 19
  • October, from Friday 16 to Tuesday 20 October: maximum coefficient 115, Saturday 17 October
  • November, from Saturday 14 to Tuesday 17 November: maximum coefficient 109, Sunday 15 November

If you do not know the phenomenon of high tides, we suggest you discover this short and magnificent video made in Timelaps on the Côtes d'Armor.

Grandes marées : Évadez-vous pour un week-end de pêche à pied

Chaque année les grandes marées du littoral Atlantique réunissent sur l’estran les passionnés de pêche à pied. Emmitouflés dans les cirés et chaussés de bottes, ils sont reconnaissables à leurs seaux, râteaux, épuisettes et bien sûr à leurs magnifiques prises du jour.

Les grandes marées 2020 sont de retour. Avec elles les amoureux de la pêche à pied sont de sortie. Les dernières grandes marées qui ont eu lieu du 9 au 13 mars dernier ont été marquées par un fort coefficient de 117. En Bretagne, en Vendée, sur l’île de Ré et l’île d’Oléron, au Cap Ferret, en Normandie, au Pays Basque, les ramasseurs ont été comblés. Et si certains sont parfois revenus bredouilles, le plaisir de l’instant et le bol d’air iodé ont à eux seuls, largement récompensé leurs efforts.

Que sont les grandes marées ?

Les marées sont causées par l’effet conjugué des forces de gravitation de la Lune et du Soleil sur les mers et les océans. Les conditions météorologiques sont un facteur d’amplification. Le vent, les vagues et la pression atmosphérique ont en effet une incidence sur le phénomène. On parle alors de surcote ou de décote. Les marées les plus faibles de l’année se produisent normalement aux solstices d’hiver et d’été. Les plus fortes ont lieu aux équinoxes de printemps et d’automne. Le coefficient de marée représente l’ampleur de la marée par rapport à sa valeur moyenne. Il varie entre 20 et 120. Plus le coefficient de marée est fort, plus la mer monte haut et descend bas, et surtout plus rapidement. Les grandes marées sont les marées ayant un coefficient supérieur à 100. Ce sont celles-ci qui laissent le mieux apparaître l’estran, ce biotope si spécifique abritant de nombreuses espèces.

Pêche à pied en Bretagne

Que pêcher sur l’estran ?

Dans le sable, les araignées, couteaux, palourdes, et la savoureuse coquille Saint-Jacques vous attendent. Dans les rochers, ce sont les crevettes, étrilles, moules, ormeaux, oursins, tourteaux et pourquoi pas homards qui s’offrent à vous ! Il est également possible de croiser la route de quelques poissons, tels que la sole, le bar ou encore le congre qu’il faudra prélever avec la plus grand prudence… Enfin ce sont également les poulpes et les seiches qui font le bonheur des ramasseurs. De quoi donner envie de chausser les bottes et de partir à la conquête de nos littoraux.

Et si vous avez manqué les grandes marées de février et mars, tout n’est pas perdu, d’autant qu’avril s’annonce sous les meilleurs auspices. Les campings proches des plages sont des destinations idéales pour s’initier à la pêche à pied.

Pêche à pied pratiqué par un jeune garçon

Réglementation de la pêche à pied

La pêche maritime à pied de loisir doit être pratiquée uniquement à pied sans aucun recours à une embarcation ou un dispositif permettant de rester immergé, tels que le tuba ou les bouteilles. Le produit de la pêche se destine à être consommé ou utilisé comme appât, uniquement par le pêcheur ou sa famille. Les ramasseurs doivent par ailleurs se renseigner sur les tailles minimales et les quotas avant de se lancer.

Prenez garde à bien vous renseigner sur les horaires de marées disponibles sur le site Horaire Marées, à respecter la réglementation générale et à prendre connaissance des arrêtés préfectoraux en cours, qui interdisent parfois le ramassage dans certaines zones.

Pêche à pied en Atlantique

Les grandes marées 2020

  • Février, du lundi 10 au jeudi 13 février : coefficient maximal de 108, mardi 11 février
  • Mars, du lundi 9 au vendredi 13 mars : coefficient maximal 117, mercredi 11 mars
  • Avril, du mardi 7 au samedi 11 avril : coefficient maximal 117, jeudi 9 avril
  • Mai, du mercredi 6 au samedi 9 mai : coefficient maximal 108, jeudi 7 mai
  • Août, du jeudi 20 au samedi 22 août : coefficient maximal 104, vendredi 21 août
  • Septembre, du jeudi 17 septembre au lundi 21 septembre : coefficient maximal 113, samedi 19 septembre
  • Octobre, du vendredi 16 au mardi 20 octobre : coefficient maximal 115, samedi 17 octobre
  • Novembre, du samedi 14 au mardi 17 novembre : coefficient maximal 109, dimanche 15 novembre

Si vous ne connaissez pas le phénomène des grandes marées, nous vous proposons de découvrir cette courte et magnifique vidéo réalisée en Timelaps sur les Côtes d’Armor.

La rédaction