carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

How about choosing Ariège and its hiking trails?

Ariège and its Ariège Pyrenees natural park conceal natural treasures to discover with family or friends.

The Ariège trails are less than an hour and a half from Toulouse, and a little over two hours from Perpignan and Andorra. They are available to the most seasoned hikers, as well as to neophyte hikers. Because there really is something for all tastes and for all levels in Ariège. In the heart of unspoiled nature, waterfalls, ponds, lakes, rocky peaks, castles and caves can be discovered at the bends of marked paths. And no need for high mountain equipment, or exceptional physical conditions to fall under the spell.

The falls

For the youngest, it will take just 25 minutes to marvel at the Roquefort waterfalls, and 1h15 to reach the Artigue waterfalls from Auzat. In just two short hours from Viviès, you will be able to access with your family a splendid point of view on the Hers valley.

The Dent d'Orlu

The Dent d'Orlu is well known to climbers because of its vertiginous wall of 1000 meters above sea level. It is in fact accessible to walkers from the north face. However, they will need 5 hours of effort and 700 meters of vertical drop, to access the breathtaking panorama. An exceptional belvedere opens magnificently on all the mountains of Ariège.

Iconic peaks

For the more athletic, from Auzat an exceptional high mountain hike of nearly 10 am will allow you to climb the two emblematic peaks of the valley of Vicdessos, the Pique d'Estats and the Montcalm. Thrills guaranteed when you reach the top of Catalonia and the first Pyrenean “3000” from the Mediterranean. Be careful, this hike and its 2000 meters of vertical drop, however, is intended for experienced hikers.

An extraordinary biodiversity

Throughout these Ariège adventures, young and old will only have to open their eyes wide to marvel at a so rich biodiversity. Perhaps you will come across chamois, otters and marmots during your explorations? Looking up to the sky, you will see the ballet of a bearded vulture, considered the largest raptor in Europe, that of a vulture or even a golden eagle. In Ariège, nearly 60 species of orchids are available to the most curious observers. In winter, the astonishing green spheres adorned with white berries hanging from bare trees betray the presence of mistletoe, a symbol of strength and power, but above all a sign of unspoiled nature.

Do not wait any longer, Ariège is available to you now. You will thus see that Ariège deserves its motto… “Ariège, the Pyrenees with a capital A!”

Et si vous choisissiez l’Ariège et ses sentiers de randonnée ?

L’Ariège et son parc naturel des Pyrénées ariégeoises recèlent des trésors naturels à découvrir en famille ou entre amis.

Les sentiers d’Ariège sont à moins d’une heure et demie de Toulouse, et à un peu plus de deux heures de Perpignan et Andorre. Ils  s’offrent aux randonneurs les plus aguerris, tout comme aux promeneurs néophytes. Car il y en a réellement pour tous les goûts et pour tous les niveaux en Ariège. Au coeur d’une nature préservée, cascades, étangs, lacs, pics rocheux, châteaux et grottes se découvrent au détours de chemins balisés. Et nul besoin d’équipement de haute montagne, ni de conditions physiques exceptionnelles pour tomber sous le charme.

Les cascades

Pour les plus jeunes, il suffira en effet de 25 minutes pour s’émerveiller devant les cascades de Roquefort, et de 1h15 pour atteindre les cascades de l’Artigue au départ d’Auzat. En seulement deux petites heures au départ de Viviès, il vous sera possible d’accéder en famille à un point de vue splendide sur la vallée de l’Hers.

La Dent d’Orlu

La Dent d’Orlu est bien connue des grimpeurs en raison de sa vertigineuse paroi de 1000 mètres d’altitude. Elle est en effet accessible aux marcheurs par la face nord. Il leur faudra toutefois 5 heures d’effort et 700 mètres de dénivelé, pour accéder au panorama à couper le souffle. Un belvédère d’exception s’ouvre magnifiquement sur l’ensemble des montagnes d’Ariège.

Des sommets emblématiques

Pour les plus sportifs, au départ d’Auzat une exceptionnelle randonnée de haute montagne de près de 10h00 vous permettra de gravir les deux sommets emblématiques de la vallée de Vicdessos, la Pique d’Estats et le Montcalm. Frissons garantis lorsque vous atteindrez le sommet de la Catalogne et le premier “3000” pyrénéen depuis la Méditerranée. Attention, cette randonnée et ses 2000 mètres de dénivelé s’adresse toutefois aux randonneurs chevronnés.

Une biodiversité extraordinaire

Tout au long de ces aventures ariégeoises, petits et grands n’auront qu’à ouvrir grand les yeux pour s’émerveiller d’une biodiversité si riche. Peut-être croiserez-vous au cours de vos explorations des isards, des loutres et des marmottes ? En levant les yeux vers le ciel, vous apercevrez le ballet d’un gypaète barbu, considéré comme le plus grand rapace d’Europe, celui d’un vautour ou encore d’un aigle royal. En Ariège, près de 60 espèces d’orchidées s’offrent aux observateurs les plus curieux. L’hiver, les étonnantes sphères vertes ornées de baies blanches accrochées aux arbres nus trahissent la présence du gui, symbole de force et de puissance, mais surtout signe d’une nature préservée.

N’attendez plus, l’Ariège s’offre à vous dès maintenant. Vous constaterez ainsi que l’Ariège mérite sa devise… “Ariège, les Pyrénées avec un grand A !”

La rédaction