carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Climbing: One of the 2 most difficult routes in the world is in France

France is an ideal playground for all outdoor sports enthusiasts. This summer, climbing enthusiasts have seen it in the Hautes-Alpes, after Alexander Megos climbed Bibliography. This exceptional line, now classified 9c, is close to the legendary 9a + Biography. It was inaugurated in 2001 by Chris Sharma.

En climbing, the ninth degree is the ultimate level of difficulty. 300 routes open around the world are classified 9a, 9a +, 9b, 9b + or 9c. Of these, only four are rated 9b +. And there are only two 9c lanes in the world. The first is Silence in Flatanger in Norway, climbed for the first time in September 2017 by the Czech Adam Ondra. The second is French. Bibliography is located in Ceüse, near Gap in the Hautes-Alpes. And this is the German climber Alexander Megos. who is the first to have climbed it.

Bibliography

Since 2017, Alexander has carried out multiple tests and many weeks of training on the spot. He finally successfully climbed this route that some considered inaccessible. During his first attempt at Ceüse on the dreaded limestone cliff Overhanging 36 meters, Alexander knew it was possible to climb it to its summit. Then the unsuccessful attempts followed, and doubt set in. There were injuries, uncertainties, then qualifying for the Olympic Games. It is finally almost 3 years after his first steps on this line, that Alexander, encouraged by his clan, realized the impossible ascent on August 5, 2020. This feat directly propelled him to the rank of second greatest climber in history, behind the undisputed champion Adam Ondra.

“The second day I fell 3 hits… I was ready to go home but Jenya convinced me to stay one more day and try one last time. I was there for my third day on the rock. I missed my last try even though I was feeling good. I just couldn't leave like this. So I decided to give it another try, which ended up being the right one! Climbing is really weird sometimes… ”

 
 
 
 
 
See this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Alexander Megos (@alexandermegos)

Avant Bibliography, Alex had never tackled a route that he did not climb in a short time ... This sporty line on the magnificent Ceüse cliff, really gave the 27-year-old German a hard time. From this personal adventure was born a documentary of 17 minutes available recently on YouTube. The film traces the last moments and the final efforts of Alex on the cliff, before reaching the summit, his arms completely paralyzed by the intense effort.

Silence

Professional climber Adam Ondra is considered the best climber in history. He wrote part of climbing history when he climbed the spectacular Hanshelleren cave in Norway on September 3, 2017. It will then become the first route to receive the grade of 9C. She will be called Silence, and will remain until today the most difficult route in the world, until Alexander Megos opens the French way Bibliography.

Escalade : L’une des 2 voies les plus difficiles du monde se trouve en France

La France est une terrain de jeu idéal pour tous les sportifs outdoor. Cet été, les amateurs d’escalade en ont d’ailleurs eu l’illustration dans les Hautes-Alpes, après qu’Alexander Megos ait gravi Bibliographie. Cette exceptionnelle ligne désormais classée 9c est voisine de la mythique 9a+ Biographie. Elle a été inaugurée en 2001 par Chris Sharma.

En escalade, le neuvième degré est l’ultime niveau de difficulté. 300 voies ouvertes à travers le monde sont classées 9a, 9a+, 9b, 9b+ ou 9c. Parmi elles, seulement quatre sont classées 9b+. Et il n’existe que deux voies 9c dans le monde. La première est Silence à Flatanger en Norvège, gravie pour la première fois en septembre 2017 par le tchèque Adam Ondra. La deuxième est française. Bibliographie se trouve à Ceüse, près de Gap dans les Hautes-Alpes. Et c’est le grimpeur allemand Alexander Megos qui est le premier à l’avoir gravie.

Bibliographie

Depuis 2017, Alexander a réalisé de multiples essais et de nombreuses semaines d’entraînement sur place. Il a finalement grimpé avec succès cette voie que certains jugeaient inaccessible. Lors de sa première tentative à Ceüse sur la redoutable falaise calcaire en surplomb de 36 mètres, Alexander a su qu’il était possible de la grimper jusqu’à son sommet. Puis les essais infructueux se sont enchaînés, et le doute s’est installé. Il y a eu des blessures, des incertitudes, puis la qualification aux Jeux Olympiques. C’est finalement près de 3 ans après ses premiers pas sur cette ligne, qu’Alexander, encouragé par son clan, a réalisé l’impossible ascension le 5 août 2020. Cet exploit l’a directement propulsé au rang de deuxième plus grand grimpeur de l’histoire, derrière le champion incontesté Adam Ondra.

“Le deuxième jour, j’ai chuté de 3 coups… J’étais prêt à rentrer chez moi mais Jenya m’a convaincu de rester un jour de plus et d’essayer une dernière fois. J’étais là pour mon troisième jour sur le rocher. J’ai raté mon dernier essai alors que je me sentais pourtant bien. Je ne pouvais simplement pas partir comme ça. J’ai donc décidé de faire un autre essai, qui a fini par être le bon ! L’escalade est vraiment bizarre parfois…”

 
 
 
 
 
Voir cette publication sur Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Une publication partagée par Alexander Megos (@alexandermegos)

Avant Bibliographie, Alex ne s’était jamais frotté à un itinéraire qu’il n’ait pas gravi en peu de temps… Cette ligne sportive sur la magnifique falaise de Ceüse, aura réellement donné du fil à retordre au jeune allemand de 27 ans. De cette aventure personnelle est né un documentaire de 17 minutes disponible depuis peu sur YouTube. Le film retrace les derniers instants et les ultimes efforts d’Alex sur la falaise, avant d’accéder au sommet, les bras complètement tétanisés par l’effort intense.

Silence

Le grimpeur professionnel Adam Ondra est considéré comme le meilleur grimpeur de l’histoire. Il a écrit une partie de l’histoire de l’escalade en gravissant le 3 septembre 2017 la spectaculaire grotte Hanshelleren en Norvège. Elle deviendra alors la première voie à recevoir la note de 9C. Elle sera appelée Silence, et restera jusqu’à aujourd’hui la voie la plus difficile du monde, jusqu’à ce qu’Alexander Megos ouvre la voie française Bibliographie.

La rédaction