carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Sweetness of life and summer scents, pétanque will be the star of your vacation

Do you remember ? On the village square, the fountain flows peacefully. A breeze caresses the leaves of the majestic plane trees. On the terrace, the waiter chats with the customers who linger in front of their coffee. The hubbub of conversations mingles with the laughter of the children and the song of the cicadas. A little further the tone rises. It's no longer joking, we play the point! Place the pétanque.

Che childhood memory is engraved in the collective memory. The village squares, the shade of the trees, the fountains, the bell that marks the time and the pétanque… An entire part of our country's heritage can be found in these few words. Add to that the local drink, pastis, beer, red wine balloon or even sambuc, and you are transported to a time when everything seemed simpler. Would pétanque finally be our madeleine of Proust?

Relaxation and conviviality are guaranteed with the pétanque. And its success cannot be denied. On the contrary, bowls lives a perpetual renewal and crosses the generations. She is the privileged witness of precious moments with friends, family, during weddings or on vacation. All occasions are good to take out the boules and compete for a few points in the shade of large trees. And when spirits heat up, it's only for a moment. Laughter and discussions quickly resume their course until the next crucial point.

Pétanque and plane tree

Pétanque attracts 20 million people in France! And vacationers are not mistaken, for several years this hobby is making a comeback in families and among tourism professionals. Pétanque will certainly be one of the stars of the summer of 2020 So if this summer you are planning to introduce yourself to pétanque, we offer you some tips to shine around the grounds. Because make no mistake, if petanque is not taken seriously, this sport is actually very serious.

What type of balls to choose?

There are 3 main types of balls. The famous colored plastic balls from our childhood, leisure balls steel that have a standardized weight and diameter, and competition petanque balls. In carbon or stainless steel, competition balls are approved for tournaments and competitions by the International Federation of Petanque and Provençal Game. They exist in several diameters and weights depending on the players and the size of their hands. The pointers will use the hard balls more, while the shooters will prefer the soft balls. To these balls is added the goal, or more familiarly and depending on the region the cork, the jack, or the little one.

How many boules per player?

It all depends on the number of players. In tete à tete, and in doublet, you will play with 3 balls each. But if you play in triplet, that is to say at 3 against 3, each player will have 2 balls.

Pétanque at the beach

What about the points?

At the start of the game, all the teams play their boules. When this first round - or leads for the purists - is over, the points are counted. The winning team is the one with the most boules close to the jack. For this team, we then count all the boules which are closest to the goal than the closest to the opposing boules. The winning team of the leads, raises the jack for the next end. A game is played in 13 points.

And don't let that happen! If you win with 13 points against 12, no official rule imposes a two-point difference at the end of the game. The end of the game usually marks the time for the grill or the aperitif. And it is of course the loser who invites!

carte welcome

Avec toute réservation, 1 an d'adhésion offert à la Carte Avantages Welcome.

10 000 offres sport et culture partout en France ainsi que 10% de remise sur vos futures réservations Welcome !

Douceur de vivre et parfums d’été, la pétanque sera la star de vos vacances

Vous souvenez-vous ? Sur la place du village, la fontaine s’écoule paisiblement. Une brise caresse les feuilles des majestueux platanes. En terrasse, le serveur bavarde avec les clients qui s’attardent devant leur café. Le brouhaha des conversations se mêlent aux rires des enfants et au chant des cigales. Un peu plus loin le ton monte. Ça ne plaisante plus, on joue le point ! Place à la pétanque.

Ce souvenir d’enfance est gravé dans la mémoire collective. Les places de villages, l’ombre des arbres, les fontaines, la cloche qui marque le temps et la pétanque… Un pan entier du patrimoine de notre pays tient dans ces quelques mots. Ajoutez à cela la boisson locale, pastis, bière, ballon de vin rouge ou encore sambuc, et vous voilà transporté à une époque où tout semblait plus simple. La pétanque serait-elle finalement notre madeleine de Proust ?

Détente et convivialité sont assurées avec la pétanque. Et son succès ne se dément pas. Bien au contraire, la pétanque vit un perpétuel renouveau et traverse les générations. Elle est le témoin privilégié de moments précieux entre amis, en famille, pendant les mariages ou en vacances. Toutes les occasions sont bonnes pour sortir les boules et disputer quelques points à l’ombre de grands arbres. Et quand les esprits s’échauffent, ce n’est que pour un instant. Rires et discussions reprennent vite leurs cours jusqu’au prochain point crucial.

Pétanque et platane

La pétanque séduit 20 millions de personnes en France ! Et les vacanciers ne s’y trompent pas, depuis plusieurs années ce loisir revient en force dans les familles et chez les professionnels du tourisme. La pétanque sera certainement l’une des stars de l’été 2020 Alors si cet été vous envisagez de vous initier à la pétanque, nous vous proposons quelques conseils pour briller autour des terrains. Car ne vous y trompez, si la pétanque ne se prend pas au sérieux, ce sport est en réalité des plus sérieux.

Quel type de boules choisir ?

Il existe 3 grands types de boules. Les célèbres boules en plastique de couleurs de notre enfance, les boules de loisir en acier qui ont un poids et un diamètre standardisés, et les boules de pétanque de compétition. En acier carbone ou inoxydable, les boules de compétition sont homologuées pour les tournois et compétitions par la Fédération Internationale de Pétanque et du Jeu Provençal. Elles existent en plusieurs diamètres et poids en fonction des joueurs et de la taille de leurs mains. Les pointeurs utiliseront plutôt les boules dures, alors que les tireurs préfèreront les boules tendres. À ces boules s’ajoute le but, ou plus familièrement et selon les régions le bouchon, le cochonnet, ou encore le petit.

Combien de boules par joueur ?

Tout dépend du nombre de joueurs. En tête à tête, et en doublette, vous jouerez avec 3 boules chacun. Mais si vous jouez en triplette, c’est-à-dire à 3 contre 3, chaque joueur aura 2 boules.

Pétanque à la plage

Et les points alors ?

En début de partie, toutes les équipes jouent leurs boules. Quand cette première manche – ou mène pour les puristes – est terminée, on compte les points. L’équipe qui a gagné est celle qui a le plus de boules proches du cochonnet. Pour cette équipe, on comptabilise alors toutes les boules qui se trouvent le plus près du but que la plus proche des boules adverses. L’équipe gagnante de la mène, relance le cochonnet pour la mène suivante. Une partie se joue en 13 points.

Et ne vous laissez pas faire ! Si vous gagnez avec 13 points contre 12, aucune règle officielle n’impose deux points d’écart en fin de partie. La fin de la partie sonne en général l’heure de la grillade ou de l’apéritif. Et c’est bien sûr le perdant qui invite !

La rédaction