fbpx

BEST RATES GUARANTEED

No additional cost, our rates are identical to those charged by the campings.

Enthusiasts identify the sounds of forests around the world

Relax while listening to the recording of the rain stream in the heart of a tropical forest. Wait for summer while savoring the song of a stream. Let yourself be lulled by the song of birds from here and elsewhere. Let yourself be surprised by the howls of the lemurs of Madagascar or the croaking of frogs ... Discover and share the wonders of nature by mobilizing only your ear and your imagination. This is what the Sounds of the Forest project offers, a vast inventory of the sounds of the world's forests.

LForest lovers will be delighted by this new initiative born in the imagination of the organizers of the Timber Festival. The collaborative project Sounds of the Forest emerged during confinement linked to the Covid 19 pandemic. It identifies sounds of the world's forests and then provides an interactive map. It is then gradually enriched by the contributions of all nature music lovers, who in turn share the sounds captured during their walks and hikes.

“We collect the sounds of woods and forests from all over the world. Then we create a collaborative sound map that brings together tones and sound textures from the world's forests. The sounds then form an open source library. It can be used by everyone for listening and even for creation. "

Sounds of the world's forests: multiple goals

Beyond discovery and wonder, the card is a great opportunity to archive sounds of threatened ecosystems by climate change and human activities. For example, a track has been recorded at Santa Cruz in California before the terrible, devastating fires of the summer. On the contrary, another recording highlights the efforts to preserve the forest in Cape Kimberly in Australia. The ambition of the creators of the project is that the sounds made available then become muses for the artists. They can therefore seize it for create original works in homage to nature. The artists Erland Cooper, Hinako Omori and Jason Singh will present their works created under this inspiration, during the Timber Festival 2021.

“We are delighted that such innovative artists are taking our sound postcards from forests around the world. They create new music inspired by nature. "

Forest in the mist

The Timber Festival

The Timber Festival is a three-day celebration that takes place each year in the heart of the national forest northeast of Birmingham in England. The Timber Festival “celebrates our connection to trees and woods through music, art and ideas, taking inspiration from the transformed landscape of the Midlands National Forest”. Every year, nature lovers, dreamers, thinkers and artists meet in the forest for a few days of sharing, concerts and workshops.

Share the sounds of your forest

France is a land of forests. Not less than 17 million hectares of forest constitute the green lung of our country. Since May 2020, more than 550 volunteers from 50 countries have already contributed to the project by sending audio postcards of less than a minute. Join them, so that as many people as possible experience beauty sounds of your forest.

The sounds of the world's forests heard on the canopy

Des passionnés recensent les sons des forêts du monde entier

Se détendre en écoutant l’enregistrement du ruissellement de la pluie au coeur d’une forêt tropicale. Attendre l’été en savourant le chant d’un ruisseau. Se laisser bercer par le chant des oiseaux d’ici et d’ailleurs. Se laisser surprendre par les hurlements des lémuriens de Madagascar ou le coassement des grenouilles… Découvrir et partager les merveilles de la nature en mobilisant uniquement son oreille et son imagination. C’est ce que propose le projet Sounds of the Forest, un vaste recensement des sons des forêts du monde.

Les amoureux de la forêt vont être comblés par cette nouvelle initiative née dans l’imagination des organisateurs du Timber Festival. Le projet collaboratif Sounds of the Forest a vu le jour pendant le confinement lié à la pandémie de Covid 19. Il recense les sons des forêts du monde et met ensuite à disposition une carte interactive. Elle s’enrichit ensuite peu à peu des apports de tous les mélomanes de la nature, qui partagent à leur tour les sons captés pendant leurs promenades et randonnées.

“Nous collectons les sons des bois et des forêts du monde entier. Puis nous créons une carte sonore collaborative qui réunit des tonalités et des textures sonores des forêts du monde. Les sons forment ensuite une bibliothèque open source. Elle est utilisable par tous pour l’écoute et même pour la création.”

Sons des forêts du monde : des objectifs multiples

Au-delà de la découverte et de l’émerveillement, la carte est une belle occasion pour archiver les sons d’écosystèmes menacés par le changement climatique et les activités humaines. Une piste a par exemple été enregistrée à Santa Cruz en Californie avant les terribles incendies dévastateurs de l’été. Au contraire, un autre enregistrement met en valeur les efforts de préservation de la forêt à Cape Kimberly en Australie. L’ambition des créateurs du projet est que les sons mis à disposition deviennent ensuite des muses pour les artistes. Ils peuvent donc s’en saisir pour créer des oeuvres originales en hommage à la nature. Les artistes Erland Cooper, Hinako Omori et Jason Singh présenteront leurs oeuvres créées sous cette inspiration, lors du Festival Timber 2021.

“Nous sommes ravis que des artistes aussi innovants prennent nos cartes postales sonores des forêts du monde entier. Ils créent une nouvelle musique inspirée par la nature.”

Forêt dans la brume

Le Timber Festival

Le Timber Festival est une fête de trois jours qui se déroule chaque année au cœur de la forêt nationale au Nord-Est de Birmingham en Angleterre. Le Festival Timber “célèbre notre lien avec les arbres et les bois à travers la musique, l’art et les idées, en s’inspirant du paysage transformé de la forêt nationale des Midlands”. Chaque année, les amoureux de la nature, les rêveurs, les penseurs et les artistes se donnent rendez-vous en forêt, pour quelques jours de partage, de concerts et d’ateliers.

Partagez les sons de votre forêt

La France est une terre de forêts. Pas moins de 17 millions d’hectares de forêt constituent le poumon vert de notre pays. Depuis le mois de mai 2020, plus de 550 volontaires issus de 50 pays ont déjà contribué au projet en envoyant des cartes postales audio de moins d’une minute. Rejoignez-les, afin que le plus grand nombre expérimente la beauté des sons de votre forêt.

Les sons des forêt du monde entendus sur la canopé

La rédaction

Lire aussi sur le même sujet : 
Fragiles et précieuses, les forêts de France méritent notre plus grand respect
En forêt, adoptez les bons réflexes