carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Discover the explorer Eliott Schonfeld and his march of degrowth?

At 21, Eliott Schonfeld chose to become explorer. Since that day, the very young adventurer has traveled alone, minimally equipped and for many months, some of the most wild and inaccessible places on the planet.

Ladventures Eliott Schonfeld started at just 19, after spending several days in an Australian rainforest. The young man discovers there wild life, fatigue and hunger. An experience that will make a lasting impression on him. Her life would never be the same. On foot, on horseback, dog sled, canoe or even raft ... He will gradually become a passionate explorer, discovering hostile lands, which he then travels in complete autonomy in order to "relearn how to live on Earth. ".

“A world without possible exploration would be an empty world. Empty of meaning, void of life. As long as the explorers can exercise their profession, nothing will be entirely lost. "

The Gobi Desert

In 2015, Eliott's first great journey took place in Central Asia. For 3 months, the very young explorer crossed Mongolia, from the steppes of the north to the Gobi desert. He traveled 2 kilometers on foot, by truck, by bus or on horseback. He had to ride a horse for six weeks to cross 000 kilometers. The explorer then crossed wild expanses on foot for 900 days in total autonomy, with the constant concern to find water. The bet succeeded for Eliott, who quickly took a liking to this ultimate quest for the adventure in autonomy.

Alaska

Eliott's second extreme destination was in Alaska. 3000 kilometers traveled in 100 days! During his epic, he fed on mushrooms, berries, picked plants and caught fish. The abundant rivers provided him with abundant water. For more than 3 months, he had to find his place in this grandiose nature, populated by grizzly bears, wolves and caribou.

Himalayas

It was in the Himalayas that the "March of degrowth". Achieve an expedition in absolute autonomy, in an environment as harsh as the Himalayan range can be, constitutes a real challenge that the explorer has successfully taken up. After giving up all the objects of the modern world, he had to make a fire by friction, put on a leather jacket and carry his things in a bamboo bag. Accompanied by a horse and his camera, Eliott finally won his bet!

The dream of the Amazon

For his latest expedition to date, Eliott was inspired by another young explorer, Raymond Maufrais, who died at the age of 23 in 1949 in the heart of the Amazon jungle. Reading the book "Adventure in Guyana", which is none other than Raymond Maufrais's logbook found after his death in the heart of the jungle by an Indian Emerillon, upset Eliott. He decides to follow in his footsteps by crossing the Amazon. The ultimate goal will be to complete the expedition that Raymond did not have the opportunity to complete.

“The wildest place on the planet seemed too dreadful to me… It will just be me all alone in the jungle, with no roads, no tracks, right among the trees. "

An epic bordering on survival

On July 28, 2019, he embarked on his 250-kilometer journey through the jungle. He faces the Ouaqui, Tamouri and Camopi rivers in a canoe, goes upstream to reach the place where the logbook was discovered. Asked by Brut, the adventurer declares to have read Raymond's diary every day of his expedition. He thus discovers that he passes by "The same fears, the same joys, and the same emotions". Raymond failed to build a raft to go downstream. He died after giving up his things and deciding to swim down the river. Eliott encountered the same difficulties. Hungry, exhausted, after losing his machete, he will succeed in building a makeshift raft with his knife, and will return to civilization after 50 days of expedition, including 15 days spent going down the river aboard his boat.

“I feel like I've reached the jungle I've always dreamed of. It is the most beautiful expedition of all my life. "

The explorer, now author and director, shares his minimalist adventures in search of degrowth, and thus hopes to change the consumerist mentalities of our societies a little.

 
 
 
 
 
See this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by eliott schonfeld (@eliottschonfeld)

Découvrez l’explorateur Eliott Schonfeld et sa marche de la décroissance ?

À 21 ans, Eliott Schonfeld a choisi de devenir explorateur. Depuis ce jour, le tout jeune aventurier parcourt seul, équipé de manière minimaliste et pendant de longs mois, certains des endroits les plus sauvages et inaccessibles de la planète.

Les aventures d’Eliott Schonfeld ont commencé à seulement 19 ans, après qu’il ait passé plusieurs jours dans une forêt tropicale australienne. Le jeune homme y découvre la vie sauvage, la fatigue et la faim. Une expérience qui le marquera durablement. Sa vie ne serait plus jamais la même. À pied, à cheval, en chien de traineau, en canoë ou même en radeau… Il deviendra peu à peu un explorateur passionné, à la découverte de terres hostiles, qu’il parcourt alors en autonomie complète afin de “réapprendre à vivre sur Terre”.

“Un monde sans exploration possible serait un monde vide. Vide de sens, vide de vie. Tant que les explorateurs pourront exercer leur métier, rien ne sera tout à fait perdu.”

Le désert de Gobi

En 2015, le premier grand périple d’Eliott s’est déroulé en Asie Centrale. Pendant 3 mois, le tout jeune explorateur a traversé la Mongolie, des steppes du nord jusqu’au désert de Gobi. Il a parcouru 2 000 kilomètres à pied, en camion, en bus ou à cheval. Il lui a fallu monter à cheval durant six semaines pour traverser 900 kilomètres. L’explorateur a ensuite traversé à pied des étendues sauvages pendant 33 jours en autonomie totale, avec le souci constant de trouver de l’eau. Pari réussi pour Eliott, qui prend rapidement goût à cette quête ultime de l’aventure en autonomie.

L’Alaska

La deuxième destination extrême d’Eliott s’est déroulé en Alaska. 3000 kilomètres parcourus en 100 jours ! Pendant son épopée, il s’est nourri de champignons, de baies, de plantes cueillies et de poissons pêchés. Les rivières abondantes lui ont procuré de l’eau en abondance. Pendant plus de 3 mois, il a dû trouver sa place au sein de cette nature grandiose, peuplée de grizzlis, de loups et de caribous.

L’Himalaya

C’est dans l’Himalaya qu’a réellement commencé la “marche de la décroissance”. Réaliser une expédition en autonomie absolue, dans un environnement aussi rude que peut l’être la chaîne himalayenne, constitue un véritable défi que l’explorateur a relevé avec succès. Après avoir abandonné tous les objets du monde moderne, il a dû faire du feu par friction, se vêtir d’une veste en peau et transporter ses affaires dans un sac en bambou. Accompagné d’un cheval et de sa caméra, Eliott a finalement remporté son pari !

Le rêve de l’Amazonie

Pour sa dernière expédition en date, Eliott a été inspiré par un autre jeune explorateur, Raymond Maufrais, décédé à 23 ans en 1949 au coeur de la jungle amazonienne. La lecture du livre “Aventure en Guyane”, qui n’est autre que le journal de bord de Raymond Maufrais retrouvé après sa mort au coeur de la jungle par un indien Emerillon, a bouleversé Eliott. Il décide de partir sur ses traces en traversant l’Amazonie. L’objectif ultime sera de terminer l’expédition que Raymond n’a pas eu l’occasion de finaliser.

“Le lieu le plus sauvage de la planète me paraissait trop redoutable… Ce sera juste moi tout seul dans la jungle, sans aucune route, sans aucune piste, juste au milieu des arbres.”

Une épopée aux limites de la survie

Le 28 juillet 2019, il entreprend son voyage de 250 kilomètres à travers la jungle. Il affronte les rivières Ouaqui, Tamouri et Camopi en pirogue, les remonte à contre-courant pour arriver jusqu’au lieu où le carnet de bord fût découvert. Interrogé par Brut, l’aventurier déclare avoir lu chaque jour de son expédition le journal de Raymond. Il découvre ainsi qu’il passe par “les mêmes craintes, les mêmes joies, et les mêmes émotions”. Raymond échoua à construire un radeau pour descendre le courant. Il mourut après avoir abandonné ses affaires et décidé de descendre la rivière à la nage. Eliott a rencontré les mêmes difficultés. Affamé, épuisé, après avoir perdu sa machette, il réussira à construire un radeau de fortune avec son couteau, et retournera à la civilisation après 50 jours d’expédition, dont 15 jours passés à redescendre la rivière à bord de son embarcation.

“J’ai l’impression d’avoir atteint la jungle dont j’ai toujours rêvée. C’est la plus belle expédition de toute ma vie.”

L’explorateur, devenu auteur et réalisateur partage ses aventures minimalistes en quête de décroissance, et espère ainsi faire évoluer un peu les mentalités consuméristes de nos sociétés.

La rédaction