carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Discover 7 mythical climbing spots in France

France is a privileged destination for all climbing enthusiasts. Many exceptional climbing spots are well worth a look.

Take to the heights, discover unique natural sites, surpass oneself physically and mentally, share strong moments with loved ones, or even develop confidence in oneself and in others… There are so many reasons to practice climbing. This is how more and more athletes are turning to this outdoor sport. The French Federation of Mountain and Climbing now has nearly 100 licensees. And France is full of climbing spots spread all over the country. Far from being exhaustive, today we offer a selection of major climbing sites in France. To find all the climbing spots, don't miss the site's valuable tool Climbing Away.

The cliff of Buoux, in the Lubéron

In the heart of Vaucluse, the cliff of Buoux has seen the best climbers evolve since the 70s. Patrick Edlinger himself trained there for a long time. He is also the one who will pass the first 7c of this grandiose site. Here more than 500 climbing routes classified from 4b to 8c await climbers.

The Provencal cliff of Buoux

Climbing in Annot, in the Alpes-de-Haute-Provence

Between southern sun and shady undergrowth, Annot is a true paradise for lovers of climbing. In the middle of the forest, the Annot climbing spot is an exceptional boulder site. It has managed to keep its charm and serenity while developing high quality facilities. About a hundred routes classified from 4c to 8c + are accessible on these sandstone walls. To these are added a hundred routes from 5b to 8a which go up the lines of cracks.

Annot is a temple of rock climbing

The mythical Ceüse cliff, in the Hautes-Alpes

We no longer present Ceüse and the pure lines of its limestone cliffs. Slabs, slopes and walls await enthusiasts. Several hundred routes rated 5a to 9b, and the legendary Biography offer hours of absolutely magical climbing, and in a dream setting!

Mythical ascent of the cliff of Ceüse

Climbing spot in Pen-Hir, in Brittany

When we evoke French climbing spots, Brittany is not the first destination that comes to mind. Yet at the end of the Crozon peninsula, the tip of Pen-Hir majestically overlooks the Iroise Sea. Spray and sea breeze give these climbs suspended above the waves a special atmosphere. 130 routes from 3c to 8a and a maximum height of 80 meters, promise all climbers intense sensations.

Climb the cliff of Pen-hir

Le Verdon, in the Alpes-de-Haute-Provence

Vertiginous, wild and fascinating… The Verdon gorges never cease to amaze visitors. And to admire them in all serenity, nothing like climbing. This climbing spot is internationally recognized for its quality, its beauty and the impressive number of routes. No less than 1 routes are indeed spread over these limestone cliffs!

Climbing in the Verdon gorges

Climbing in Fontainebleau, in Seine-et-Marne

The climbing spot in the Fontainebleau forest is a unique and famous place around the world. The many blocks of sandstone sheltered by the forest are an inexhaustible source of climbing experiences, for beginners as well as for the most experienced. Nearly 40 topo-guides list the 25 tracks spread over 000 sectors of the forest of Fontainebleau.

Bouldering in Fontainebleau

The Calanques in the Bouches-du-Rhône

In the heart of the Calanques National Park, many climbing routes with breathtaking views of the Great Blue await the sportsmen. This unique place offers hundreds of routes of all grades. The Morgiou ridge offers an ascent to 230 meters in height. Crossing the bec de Sormiou is the opportunity for a magnificent horizontal along the sea.

Climbing in the Calanques of Marseille

Many other natural sites in France are extraordinary climbing spots. The Vercors, the gorges of Tarn or Jonte, Orpierre or Bavella will be the subject of a future article dedicated to climbing.

Discover here, all of the campings Welcome labeled climbing.

carte welcome

Avec toute réservation, 1 an d'adhésion offert à la Carte Avantages Welcome.

10 000 offres sport et culture partout en France ainsi que 10% de remise sur vos futures réservations Welcome !

Découvrez 7 spots d’escalade mythiques en France

La France est une destination privilégiée pour tous les amateurs de grimpe. De nombreux spots d’escalade exceptionnels méritent largement que l’on s’y attarde.

Prendre de la hauteur, découvrir des sites naturels uniques, se dépasser physiquement et mentalement, partager des moments forts avec ses proches, ou encore développer la confiance en soi et en les autres… Il y a tant de raisons de pratiquer l’escalade. C’est ainsi que de plus en plus de sportifs se tournent vers ce sport de pleine nature. La Fédération Française de la Montagne et Escalade compte désormais près de 100 000 licenciés. Et la France regorge de spots d’escalade répartis sur tout le territoire. Loin d’être exhaustive, nous vous proposons aujourd’hui une sélection de sites majeurs d’escalade en France. Pour retrouver l’ensemble des spots d’escalade, ne manquez pas le précieux outil du site Climbing Away.

La falaise de Buoux, dans le Lubéron

Au coeur du Vaucluse, la falaise de Buoux a vu évoluer les meilleurs grimpeurs depuis les années 70. Patrick Edlinger s’y est lui-même longuement entraîné. C’est d’ailleurs lui qui réussira les premiers 7c de ce site grandiose. Ici, plus de 500 voies d’escalade classées du 4b au 8c attendent les grimpeurs.

La provençale falaise de Buoux

Escalade à Annot, dans les Alpes-de-Haute-Provence

Entre soleil du sud et sous-bois ombragés, Annot est un véritable paradis pour les amoureux d’escalade. Au milieu de la forêt, le spot d’escalade d’Annot est un site de blocs exceptionnel. Il a su garder son charme et sa sérénité tout en développant des installations de haute qualité. Une centaine de voies classées du 4c au 8c+ sont accessibles sur ces murs de grès. À celles-ci, s’ajoutent une centaine de voies du 5b au 8a qui remontent les lignes de fissures.

Annot est un temple de l'escalade

La mythique falaise de Ceüse, dans les Hautes-Alpes

On ne présente plus Ceüse et les lignes pures de ses falaises calcaire. Dalles, dévers et murs y attendent les passionnés. Plusieurs centaines de voies de cotation 5a à 9b, et la légendaire Biographie offrent des heures de grimpe absolument magiques, et dans un décor de rêve !

Mythique ascension de la falaise de Ceüse

Spot d’escalade à Pen-Hir, en Bretagne

Quand on évoque les spots d’escalade français, la Bretagne n’est pas la première destination qui vient à l’esprit. Pourtant au bout de la presqu’île de Crozon, la pointe de Pen-Hir surplombe majestueusement la mer d’Iroise. Embruns et vent du large donnent à ces ascensions suspendues au dessus des flots, une atmosphère particulière. 130 voies de 3c à 8a et d’une hauteur maximale de 80 mètres, promettent à tous les grimpeurs des sensations intenses.

Grimper sur la falaise de Pen-hir

Le Verdon, dans les Alpes-de-Haute-Provence

Vertigineuses, sauvages et fascinantes… Les gorges du Verdon ne cessent d’émerveiller les visiteurs. Et pour les admirer en toute sérénité, rien de tel que l’escalade. Ce spot d’escalade est reconnu à l’international pour sa qualité, sa beauté et le nombre impressionnant de voies. Pas moins de 1 500 voies se répartissent en effet sur ces falaises calcaire !

Escalade dans les gorges du Verdon

Escalade à Fontainebleau, en Seine-et-Marne

Le spot d’escalade de la forêt de Fontainebleau est un lieu unique et réputé dans le monde entier. Les nombreux blocs de grès abrités par la forêt sont une source intarissable d’expériences de grimpe, pour les débutants comme pour les plus chevronnés. Près de 40 topo-guides recensent les 25 000 voies réparties sur 25 secteurs de la forêt de Fontainebleau.

Escalade sur bloc à Fontainebleau

Les Calanques dans les Bouches-du-Rhône

Au coeur du Parc National des Calanques, de nombreuses voies d’escalade avec vue imprenable sur la Grande-Bleue attendent les sportifs. Ce lieu unique propose des centaines de voies de toutes les cotations. La crête de Morgiou offre une ascension à 230 mètres de hauteur. La traversée du bec de Sormiou est quant-à-elle l’occasion d’une magnifique horizontale le long de la mer.

Escalade dans les Calanques de Marseille

De nombreux autres sites naturels de France sont des spots d’escalade extraordinaires. Le Vercors, les gorges du Tarn ou de la Jonte, Orpierre ou Bavella feront l’objet d’un prochain article dédié à l’escalade.

La rédaction

Découvrez ici, l’ensemble des campings Welcome labellisés escalade.