carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Five skiers descended the north face of the Blanche de Peuterey

43 years after the feat of the pioneers Anselme Baud and Patrick Vallenchant in 1977, Vivian Bruchez, Guillaume Pierrel, Tiphaine Duperier, Boris Langenstein and Tom Lafaille have skied down the north face of the Blanche de Peuterey.

Lhe north face of the Blanche de Peuterey is located on a difficult summit in the Italian part of the Mont-Blanc massif, between the Noire de Peuterey and the Grand Pilier d'Angle. For the native of Chamonix Vivian Bruchez, this descent was “a skier's dream, a kid's dream, a mountain and a face”. She really cared about her. It was therefore in the footsteps of Anselme Baud and Patrick Vallençant that five talented skiers set off on this vertiginous ridge.

Blanche de Peuterey

Image credit Christian - http://www.camptocamp.org/images/328929/fr/arete-de-peuterey, CC BY-SA 2.0 fr, Link

A common project

It is Guillaume Pierrel who had the idea of ​​this magnificent adventure. This aspiring high mountain guide had spotted a line that would avoid rappelling to reach the starting point. Athletes therefore simply installed a handrail. It “has not been used by everyone”! And she's the only girl on the team, Thiphaine Duperier who "made the trail!" ". The young aspiring guide “in Olympic form and all smiles,” led the way for most of the journey.

The photographer and mountaineer Boris Langenstein who had taken Thiphaine Duperier at over 8000 meters on the Naga Parbat in Pakistan, was also in the game. His ease and knowledge of the mountains were assets for the team. The youngest of the group was this "companion who keeps smiling even when the ice is hard as glass and the crampons sing on the ice"… The young skier and mountaineer of 19 years Tom lafaille, once again demonstrated that he deserved his place among the greats.

 
 
 
 
 
See this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Vivian Bruchez (@vivianbruchez) le

A human experience

To Vivian Bruchez, this team downhill experience is the reason he loves skiing. “First for the aesthetics of a summit, then for the line, finally and above all for the companions of adventure. »A real human adventure that will mark the memories of all these adventurers, who followed in the footsteps of two other friends who had achieved the feat in 1977.

Patrick Vallencant has dedicated his life to mountain verticality, rock climbing, mountaineering and downhill skiing. This athlete and adventurer was a pioneer of extreme descents. In the Alps or in the Andes, he did not hesitate to brave slopes at 60 ° C considered impregnable… He unfortunately died in a sad accident on a school wall in the Cévennes. This fall from 40 meters was fatal to him. But Patrick is still a legend of the mountains today.

Anselme Baud is a teacher at the National Ski and Mountaineering School. He was the roping and downhill companion of Patrick Vallenchant for years. These two pioneers of extreme skiing have joined forces in the quest for physical performance and technical perfection. According to Anselme, Patrick was a “whole man, ready to sacrifice everything to achieve his goals. With him, in the city as in the mountains, it was all the time. He did not know the middle way ”.

carte welcome

Avec toute réservation, 1 an d'adhésion offert à la Carte Avantages Welcome.

10 000 offres sport et culture partout en France ainsi que 10% de remise sur vos futures réservations Welcome !

Cinq skieurs ont descendu la face nord de la Blanche de Peuterey

43 ans après l’exploit des pionniers Anselme Baud et Patrick Vallençant en 1977, Vivian Bruchez, Guillaume Pierrel, Tiphaine Duperier, Boris Langenstein et Tom Lafaille ont descendu à ski, la face nord de la Blanche de Peuterey.

La face nord de la Blanche de Peuterey se situe sur un sommet peu accessible de la partie italienne du massif du Mont-Blanc, entre la Noire de Peuterey et le Grand Pilier d’Angle. Pour le natif de Chamonix Vivian Bruchez, cette descente était “un rêve de skieur, un rêve de gamin, une montagne et une face”. Elle lui tenaient vraiment à coeur. C’est donc cans les traces d’Anselme Baud et Patrick Vallençant, que cinq skieurs de talent se sont élancés sur cette vertigineuse crête.

Blanche de Peuterey

Crédit image Christian — http://www.camptocamp.org/images/328929/fr/arete-de-peuterey, CC BY-SA 2.0 fr, Lien

Un projet commun

C’est Guillaume Pierrel qui a eu l’idée de cette magnifique aventure. Cet aspirant guide de haute-montagne avait repéré une ligne qui éviterait de faire du rappel pour parvenir au point de départ. Les sportifs ont donc tout simplement installé une main courante. Elle “n’a d’ailleurs pas été utilisée par tout le monde” ! Et c’est la seule fille de l’équipe, Thiphaine Duperier qui “a fait la trace !”. La jeune aspirant guide “d’une forme olympique et tout en sourire”, a ouvert la voie pendant presque tout le périple.

Le photographe et alpiniste Boris Langenstein qui avait emmené Thiphaine Duperier à plus de 8000 mètres sur le Naga Parbat au Pakistan, était également de la partie. Son aisance et sa connaissance de la montagne ont été des atouts pour l’équipe. Le plus jeune de la bande a été ce “compagnon qui garde le sourire même quand la glace est dure comme le verre et que les crampons chantent sur la glace”… Le jeune skieur et alpiniste de 19 ans Tom Lafaille, a une fois de plus démontré qu’il méritait sa place parmi les grands.

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

Une publication partagée par Vivian Bruchez (@vivianbruchez) le

Une expérience humaine

Pour Vivian Bruchez, cette expérience de descente en équipe est la raison pour laquelle il aime le ski. “D’abord pour l’esthétisme d’un sommet, ensuite pour la ligne, enfin et surtout pour les compagnons d’aventure.” Une véritable aventure humaine qui marquera les mémoires de tous ces aventuriers, partis sur les traces de deux autres amis qui avaient réalisé l’exploit en 1977.

Patrick Vallençant a consacré sa vie à la verticalité en montagne, l’escalade, l’alpinisme et la descente à ski. Ce sportif et aventurier a été un pionnier de descentes extrêmes. Dans les Alpes ou dans les Andes, il n’hésitait pas à braver des pentes à 60°C considérées comme imprenables… Il est malheureusement décédé dans un triste accident sur une paroi-école des Cévennes. Cette chute de 40 mètres lui a été fatale. Mais Patrick demeure aujourd’hui encore une légende de la montagne.

Anselme Baud est professeur à l’Ecole nationale de ski et d’alpinisme. Il a été le compagnon de cordée et de descente de Patrick Vallençant pendant des années. Ces deux pionniers du ski extrême se sont alliés à la recherche de la performance physique et de la perfection technique. Selon Anselme, Patrick était un “homme entier, prêt à tout sacrifier pour atteindre ses objectifs. Avec lui, à la ville comme à la montagne, c’était à fond tout le temps. Il ne connaissait pas la voie médiane”.

La rédaction