carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

5 unmissable natural sites to discover in Hauts-de-France

The Hauts-de-France conceals exceptional natural sites, to be discovered without further delay.

IA few years ago, the film by Danny Boon Welcome to the Ch'tis, won over the public. This production has thus enabled a region not very popular in terms of tourism, to finally win the hearts of the French. And the success is well deserved. The region of Hauts-de-France can indeed be proud of an exceptional natural heritage. Today we offer you our selection of 5 must-see sites to visit in Hauts-de-France. A visit will also allow you to discover the legendary hospitality of the inhabitants of this magnificent region.

The Baie de Somme, jewel of Hauts-de-France

Between cliffs, dunes, marshes and long sandy beaches, the Bay of the Somme is an invitation to relaxation and contemplation. She has been a source of inspiration for artists and authors for centuries. Degas, Corot, Jules Vernes and Colette have magnified these places through their works. This large site in France is also ranked among the most beautiful bays in the world, alongside Halong and San Francisco bays.

Coastal path and sand dunes in the Baie de Somme
Coastal path and sand dunes in the Baie de Somme

The Scarpe-Escaut Regional Nature Park

The Scarp-Escaut natural park is historically the very first regional natural park in France. It is the smallest of the regional parks in France. But it is also the most densely populated. It is also representative of an inhabited countryside space. His heart of nature consists of alluvial plains and the humid valleys of the Scarpe, the Scheldt and the Hayne. The Scarpe-Escaut park forms a mosaic of varied landscapes. Wet plains, agricultural plateaus and forests rub shoulders with former mining and industrial sites.

The Côte d'Opale

From Bray-Dunes in the North, to Berck in the South, we know the Opal Coast for its seaside resorts of Touquet, Malo-les-Bains and Blériot-Plage. But on the Opal Coast, breathtaking natural sites also await visitors. Cap Blanc-Nez, Wissant Bay, Cap Gris-Nez, the dunes of Écault, the bay of Canche or the forest of the Opal Coast are treasures of this northern coast.

Hauts-de-France: View of Cap Gris-Nez in the Opal Coast
View of Cap Gris-Nez in the Opal Coast

The Grand-Laviers bird sanctuary

At the gates of Abbeville and 5 minutes as the crow flies from the Bay of the Somme, a former industrial site offers a rich biotope to a multitude of birds. The site allows many species to find habitat and food there. Throughout the seasons, the reserve's water bodies welcome white stilts, black-necked grebes, whistling ducks, avocets, blue mirrored gorges and rush warblers. Families, photographers and ornithologists therefore meet at the Grand-Laviers bird sanctuary for memorable moments, in contact with unspoiled nature.

Migratory birds in the Baie de Somme, in the Hauts-de-France
Migratory birds in the Bay of Somme

The seal observatory

To conclude your trip, do not miss Authie bay. A colony of around forty seals has taken up residence there. Equipped with binoculars, calm visitors can admire the imposing marine mammals in their natural habitat. The nautical base of Berck is an ideal starting point from which to meet these placid master of the place. But don't be fooled! They are unpredictable. It is therefore forbidden to approach them within 300 meters.

The seals of Authie bay
The seals of Authie bay

carte welcome

Avec toute réservation, 1 an d'adhésion offert à la Carte Avantages Welcome.

10 000 offres sport et culture partout en France ainsi que 10% de remise sur vos futures réservations Welcome !

5 sites naturels incontournables à découvrir dans les Hauts-de-France

Les Hauts-de-France recèlent des sites naturels d’exception, à découvrir sans plus tarder.

Il y a quelques années, le film de Danny Boon Bienvenue chez les ch’tis, a conquis le public. Cette production a ainsi permis à une région peu plébiscitée sur le plan touristique, de gagner enfin le coeur des français. Et le succès est bien mérité. La région des Hauts-de-France peut en effet s’enorgueillir d’un patrimoine naturel exceptionnel. Nous vous proposons aujourd’hui notre sélection des 5 sites incontournables à visiter dans les Hauts-de-France. Une visite vous permettra par ailleurs de découvrir la légendaire hospitalité des habitants de cette magnifique région.

La Baie de Somme

Entre falaises, dunes, marais et longues plages de sable fin, la Baie de Somme est une invitation à la détente et à la contemplation. Elle est une source d’inspiration pour les artistes et les auteurs depuis des siècles. Degas, Corot, Jules Vernes et Colette ont magnifié ces lieux au travers de leurs oeuvres. Ce grand site de France est par ailleurs classé parmi les plus belles baies du monde, aux côtés des baies d’Halong et de San Francisco.

Chemin côtier et dunes de sable dans la Baie de Somme
Chemin côtier et dunes de sable dans la Baie de Somme

Le Parc naturel régional Scarpe-Escaut

Le Parc naturel Scarp-Escaut est historiquement le tout premier Parc naturel régional de France. Il est le plus petit des parcs régionaux de France. Mais il est également le plus densément peuplé. Il est d’ailleurs représentatif d’un espace de campagne habitée. Son coeur de nature se compose des plaines alluviales et des vallées humides de la Scarpe, de l’Escaut et de la Hayne. Le parc Scarpe-Escaut forme quant-à-lui une mosaïque de paysages variés. Plaines humides, plateaux agricoles et forêts côtoient les anciens sites miniers et industriels.

L'Escaut à Mortagne-du-Nord
L’Escaut à Mortagne-du-Nord

La Côte d’Opale

De Bray-Dunes au Nord, à Berck au Sud, on connaît la Côte d’Opale pour ses stations balnéaires du Touquet, de Malo-les-Bains ou encore de Blériot-Plage. Mais sur la Côte d’Opale, les sites naturels à couper le souffle attendent également les visiteurs. Le Cap Blanc-Nez, la Baie de Wissant, le Cap Gris-Nez, les dunes d’Écault, la baie de Canche ou la forêt de la Côte d’Opale sont des trésors de ce littoral septentrional.

Hauts-de-France : Vue du Cap Gris-Nez en Côte d'Opale
Vue du Cap Gris-Nez en Côte d’Opale

La réserve ornithologique Grand-Laviers

Aux portes d’Abbeville et à 5 minutes à vol d’oiseau de la Baie de Somme, un ancien site industriel offre un biotope riche à une multitude d’oiseaux. Le site permet à de nombreuses espèces d’y trouver habitat et nourriture. Les plans d’eau de la réserve accueillent au fil des saisons les échasses blanches, les grèbes à cou noir, les canards siffleurs, les avocettes, les gorges bleues à miroir ou les phragmites des joncs. Familles, photographes et ornithologues se retrouvent donc à la réserve ornithologique Grand-Laviers pour des instants mémorables, au contact d’une nature préservée.

Oiseaux migrateurs en Baie de Somme, dans les Hauts-de-France
Oiseaux migrateurs en Baie de Somme

L’observatoire des phoques

Pour conclure votre voyage, ne manquez pas la baie d’Authie. Une colonie d’une quarantaine de phoques y a élu domicile. Équipés de jumelles, les calmes visiteurs peuvent admirer les imposants mammifères marins dans leur habitat naturel. La base nautique de Berck est un point de départ idéal pour partir à la rencontre de ces placides maître des lieux. Mais ne vous y trompez pas ! Ils sont imprévisibles. Il est donc interdit de les approcher à moins de 300 mètres.

Les phoques de la baie d'Authie
Les phoques de la baie d’Authie

La rédaction

Image à la une : Les falaises d’Ault

Crédit image éditoriale Mortagne-du-Nord : Shutterstock-CC / Bennekom