carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

In 2020, the International Adventure Film Festival is coming to your living room

From November 11 to 15, while France is experiencing its second confinement, part of the programming of the La Rochelle International Film and Adventure Book Festival was broadcast online.

Cthis year, the 17th edition of La Rochelle International Film and Adventure Book Festival (FIFAV), had to adapt to sanitary conditions. The festival could not take place on-site. But rather than canceling the event entirely, the organizers have chosen to screen the films live and free on the web. A real breath of fresh air for the private festival-goers of the event. They had indeed had to request reimbursement of their seats or their pass due to the health crisis. The initiative was ultimately a great opportunity for everyone to discover this unmissable festival.

“The dates of the festival now fall in the heart of the confinement that is beginning. An online edition would be an opportunity to share with you some of the beautiful 2020 programming. "

A magnificent program

On the FIFAV program, documentaries, meetings and even educational projects. During the first three days of the festival, the forest, the surf, the whales, the decline, Patagonia ... But also the long sailings, Africa, mountaineering, climbing ... And finally, the Amazon and the Mediterranean were thus put in the spotlight thanks to the screening of fascinating adventure films.

The “Adventure and Literature” Encounters enabled us to discover the navigator and author Fabien Clauw, as well as the traveler and writer Cédric Gras, but also the writer awarded the 2011 Goncourt Prize Alexis Jenni. On the women's side, it was the sailor of the extreme Capucine Trochet who was honored.

A weekend not to be missed

During the weekend, the adventure then continued with a busy program. Vincent Perazio's film We slept under the sea, turned out to be a real immersion in the heart of Moorea's coral reef. This region is an important breeding site for corals, lemon sharks and humpback whales. A 60-day, 60-night adventure combining human adventure, exploration and discovery.

A little later, at 21 p.m., Michal Sulima and Jarek Kotomski recounted the extraordinary epic of a 15-year-old piano tuner. This passionate pianist transported his piano from London to a Buddhist village perched 65 meters above sea level in the Himalayas. He then gave a timeless recital, at the crossroads of cultures.

For the last day, Cholitas by Jaime Murciego and Pablo Iraburu, Atsunai Kammak by Cédric Bejeannin and The bear in me by Roman Droux were broadcast in the afternoon.

In the evening, the festival ended with the broadcast of Nomads of Iran, the teacher of the Zagros Mountains. This documentary tells the story of a teacher who followed a family of nomadic shepherds throughout the spring transhumance. For three weeks, the teacher walked with the family every day, so that he could teach the children at the end of the day.

A renowned jury president

This year, the president of the jury is none other than Francois Damilano. He is a mountaineer, mountain guide based in Chamonix, and director. This enthusiast of Alpine and Himalayan peaks, climbing and ice climbing, has participated in the filming of many of the most popular adventure shows. Ushuaia, Mountain or even Adventure diaries… He then embarked on the adventure of directing. In 2014, he became a filmmaker by directing his first adventure film, We're gonna walk on Everest. Later, K2, A special day, will win the prize for best adventure film at the Morrocco International Film Festival.

“Analyst in action, François Damilano takes advantage of his observer-participant gaze to immerse the viewer in the reality of the highest peaks, while offering him tools for reflection. "

The online FIFAV took place from the Vimeo platform… To the delight of spectators comfortably seated on their sofas!

En 2020, le Festival International du Film d’Aventure s’invite dans votre salon

Du 11 au 15 novembre, alors que la France vit son deuxième confinement, une partie de la programmation du Festival International du Film et du Livre d’Aventure de La Rochelle a été diffusée en ligne.

Cette année, la 17ème édition du Festival International du Film et du Livre d’Aventure de La Rochelle (FIFAV), a dû s’adapter aux conditions sanitaires. Le festival n’a pas pu avoir lieu in situ. Mais plutôt que d’annuler complètement l’événement, les organisateurs ont fait le choix de projeter les films en live et gratuitement sur le web. Une véritable bouffée d’oxygène pour les festivaliers privés de l’événement. Ils avaient en effet dû demander le remboursement de leurs places ou de leur pass en raison de la crise sanitaire. L’initiative a finalement été une belle occasion pour tous de découvrir cet incontournable festival.

“Les dates du festival tombent désormais en plein cœur du confinement qui débute. Une édition en ligne serait l’occasion de vous partager une partie de la belle programmation 2020. Une respiration en somme !”

Une magnifique programmation

Au programme du FIFAV, des documentaires, des rencontres et même des projets pédagogiques. Pendant les trois premiers jours de festival, la forêt, le surf, les baleines, la décroissance, la Patagonie, les longues traversées à la voile, l’Afrique, l’alpinisme, l’escalade, l’Amazonie et la Méditerranée ont été mis à l’honneur grâce à la diffusion de films d’aventure passionnants.

Les Rencontres “Aventure et Littérature” ont quant-à-elles permis de découvrir le navigateur et auteur Fabien Clauw, ainsi que le voyageur et écrivain Cédric Gras, mais aussi l’écrivain auréolé du prix Goncourt 2011 Alexis Jenni. Du côté des femmes, c’est la navigatrice de l’extrême Capucine Trochet qui a été mise à l’honneur.

Un week-end à ne pas manquer

Pendant le week-end, l’aventure s’est ensuite poursuivi avec un programme bien rempli. Le film de Vincent Perazio On a dormi sous la mer, s’est révélé être une véritable immersion au cœur du récif corallien de Moorea. Cette région est un site de reproduction importante pour les coraux, les requins citrons et les baleines à bosse. Une aventure de 60 jours et 60 nuits mêlant aventure humaine, exploration et découvertes.

Un peu plus tard, à 21h15 c’est Michal Sulima et Jarek Kotomski qui ont raconté l’extraordinaire épopée d’un accordeur de piano de 65 ans. Ce pianiste passionné a transporté son piano de Londres à un village bouddhiste perché à 4 300 mètres d’altitude dans l’Himalaya. Il a ensuite donné un récital hors du temps, à la croisée des cultures.

Pour le dernier jour, Cholitas de Jaime Murciego et Pablo Iraburu, Atsunaï Kammak de Cédric Bejeannin et L’ours en moi de Roman Droux ont été diffusés dans l’après-midi.

En soirée, le festival s’est achevé avec la diffusion de Nomades d’Iran, l’instituteur des Monts Zagros. Ce documentaire raconte l’histoire d’un instituteur qui a suivi une famille de bergers nomades, tout au long de la transhumance de printemps. Pendant trois semaines, l’enseignant a marché chaque jour avec la famille, de manière à pouvoir faire classe aux enfants en fin de journée.

Un président du jury de renom

Cette année, le président du jury n’est autre que François Damilano, alpiniste, guide de haute montagne basé à Chamonix, et réalisateur. Ce passionné des sommets alpins et himalayens, de l’escalade et des cascades de glace, a participé au tournage de nombreuses émissions d’aventure parmi les plus populaires, telles que Ushuaia, Montagne ou encore Les carnets de l’aventure, avant de se lancer dans l’aventure de la réalisation. En 2014, il deviendra cinéaste en réalisant son premier film d’aventures, On va marcher sur l’Everest. Plus tard, K2, Une journée particulière, décrochera le prix du meilleur film d’aventure au Morrocco International Film Festival.

“Analyste dans l’action, François Damilano profite de son regard d’observateur-participant pour immerger le spectateur dans la réalité des plus hauts sommets, tout en lui proposant des outils de réflexion.”

Le FIFAV en ligne a eu lieu depuis la plateforme Vimeo… Pour le plus grand bonheur des spectateurs confortablement  installés dans leur canapé !

La rédaction