carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Bertrand Piccard: What world do we want after Covid-19?

He is an adventurer, a pioneer, an innovator, at the same time doctor and explorer. Bertrand Piccard is "a voice that is listened to within the largest institutions which today consider him to be an influential opinion leader on the themes of progress and sustainability". Son of oceanographer Jacques Piccard and grandson of physicist Auguste Piccard, he made the first round-the-world balloon ride in 1999 with British pilot Brian Jones. He also co-developed and co-piloted the Solar Impulse solar aircraft. On board this plane, he made a round-the-world trip with just one tank of fuel. He took advantage of the confinement to think about what will happen after the Covid-19.

Atoday, Bertrand Piccard is committed to his foundation Solar Impulse Foundation. Independent speaker, affiliated with no lobby or political party, he is a consultant in the search for new societal solutions. He believes that our societies could be both modern and sustainable. He is working on the development of many projects in this direction. Asked by Niko Palosuo Company Covestro, the psychiatrist and adventurer gave some advice, to enhance this period of confinement. He thus drew up the outline of what the world could be after Covid-19. On the condition, however, that we accept to transform our ways of thinking.

What to do with this period of confinement?

For Bertrand Piccard, there are two ways of experiencing confinement. The first would be to regret, to worry about not being able to live and do things as usual. The other would be to ask, "What can I do today that I couldn't do before the lockdown?" »… This is obviously the path he chose. For him, confinement was an opportunity to make himself more available, and more present for others. He took the time to counsel those who asked for his help. He also answered interviews or wrote articles. He who lived 20 days in a capsule with his co-pilot, Bertrand Piccard knows the confinement. He also wrote a very interesting article on the subject : "10 tips from an adventurer to better experience confinement".

During this very special period of isolation and withdrawal, the important thing would be not to project yourself when the confinement is over. After the Covid-19… If you count the days, the hours and see how long the time is, you suffer more because the time expands and seems longer.

"You need to live the present moment in connection with yourself with your body, to feel that you are alive, that you breathe, that you move, you speak, you think… Thus, there is no longer any temporality. … When the confinement is over, you will be surprised that it is already over! "

Thinking about the world after Covid-19

Nurture relationships

Bertrand also advises to nurture relationships if you share this moment with someone. This is the opportunity to learn to communicate. “Communication is not just the sharing of information which can lead to conflict. Communication can also be about expressing what one feels inside ”. Bertrand Piccard does not idealize this moment for all that. He remembers all those who suffer. For them, the crisis is particularly violent in health, social and economic terms. But he would like something positive and lasting to emerge from this difficult situation.

“Make this moment an adventure… Accept that confinement is an adventure and not a crisis. "

And the world after the Covid-19?

Throughout the last 50 years, the solutions proposed to achieve sustainable development were to reduce ... Reduce lifestyle, reduce comfort ... But today solutions protecting the environment, creating jobs, and benefiting industry exist, and this pioneer regrets that this is not sufficiently known and understood. For this, it is necessary to identify the technologies, devices, materials and products that can at the same time protect the environment, help develop the economy and create jobs. This is what the teams of the Solar Impulse Foundation do. They have already identified 450 initiatives that have been labeled Solar Impulse Official Solution. Now Bertrand Piccard makes himself available to governments and industries to show them the tools available that do not oppose ecology and economy.

“Today ecology and economy can work hand in hand. "

Innovation in the service of ecology

In this interview, Bertrand cites two of these innovations. The solar dryer, for example, allows farmers to conserve their crops without the need for additional energy. This allows their products to be preserved and sold later without being subject to speculation. Another of these innovations is a solvent-free textile coating which does not harm the health of the people who produce or wear it.

“New products, for a new economy and a new world. "

Think about what will happen after the Covid-19 ...

During these explorations Bertrand Piccard understood that it was always necessary to do better in the future than what we did in the past. And for the world after the Covid-19, the adventurer hopes for the best.

“I hope we will learn to do better than in the past. When I hear people who say they want to find the status quo that we had before, it's very dangerous, very very dangerous ... Because the world before the coronavirus crisis was unstable, fragile, unequal, polluted ... It was changing the climate and did not even have good economic growth. There were a lot of recessions before the Coronavirus. We have to build a better world, we have to make a safer, more equitable world, and for that we have to be more inclusive. We need to include many more people in economic development, create jobs, create wealth and implement new technologies. "

Invest in sustainable development

Today billions of dollars will be injected into the economy. Do we want to rebuild what we have lost or do we want to build something better? For Bertrand Piccard, governments should ask the beneficiaries of the guarantees, so that the endowments are invested in facilities that are economically, environmentally and socially sustainable. This would make it possible to replace an old inefficient and polluting system with modern, safe, efficient and clean infrastructures, with a good return on investment.

"If we don't do it now after the Covid-19 crisis, I don't think we will ever do it ..."

The pandemic could well be an opportunity for our societies to wake up and use technologies and solutions which at the same time lead to growth and environmental protection. Will she be?

carte welcome

Avec toute réservation, 1 an d'adhésion offert à la Carte Avantages Welcome.

10 000 offres sport et culture partout en France ainsi que 10% de remise sur vos futures réservations Welcome !

Bertrand Piccard : Quel monde voulons-nous après le Covid-19 ?

Il est aventurier, pionnier, innovateur, à la fois médecin et explorateur. Bertrand Piccard est “une voix écoutée au sein des plus grandes institutions qui le considèrent aujourd’hui comme un leader d’opinion influent sur les thèmes du progrès et de la durabilité”. Fils de l’océanographe Jacques Piccard et petit-fils du physicien Auguste Piccard, il a réussi le premier tour du monde en ballon en 1999 avec le pilote britannique Brian Jones. Il a également co-développé et co-piloté l’avion solaire Solar Impulse. À bord de cet avion, il a réalisé un tour du monde avec un seul plein de carburant. Il a profité du confinement pour réfléchir à ce qu’il se passera après le Covid-19.

Aujourd’hui, Bertrand Piccard est engagé auprès de sa fondation Solar Impulse Foundation. Orateur indépendant, affilié à aucun lobby ou parti politique, il est consultant pour la recherche de nouvelles solutions sociétales. Il croit que nos sociétés pourraient à la fois être modernes et durables. Il travaille au développement de nombreux projets en ce sens. Interrogé par Niko Palosuo de la société Covestro, le psychiatre et aventurier a donné quelques conseils, pour valoriser cette période de confinement. Il a ainsi dressé les grandes lignes de ce que pourrait être le monde après le Covid-19. À condition toutefois d’accepter de transformer nos manières de penser.

Que faire de cette période de confinement ?

Pour Bertrand Piccard, il y a deux manières de vivre le confinement. La première consisterait à regretter, à s’inquiéter de ne pas pouvoir vivre et faire les choses comme d’habitude. L’autre serait de se demander, “Que puis-je faire aujourd’hui que je ne pouvais pas faire avant le confinement ?”… C’est évidemment la voie qu’il a choisi. Pour lui, le confinement a été l’occasion de se rendre plus disponible, et plus présent pour les autres. Il a pris le temps de conseiller ceux qui sollicitaient son aide. Il a également répondu aux interviews ou encore écrit des articles. Lui qui a vécu 20 jours dans une capsule avec son co-pilote, Bertrand Piccard connaît le confinement. Il a d’ailleurs rédigé un article très intéressant sur le sujet : “10 astuces d’un aventurier pour mieux vivre le confinement”.

Pendant cette période si particulière d’isolement et de repli sur soi, l’important serait de ne pas se projeter au moment où le confinement sera terminé. Après le Covid-19… Si vous comptez les jours, les heures et constatez à quel point le temps est long, vous souffrez plus parce que le temps se dilate et paraît plus long.

“Vous avez besoin de vivre l’instant présent en connexion avec vous même avec votre corps, sentir que vous êtes vivant, que vous respirez, que vous vous déplacez, vous parlez, vous pensez… Ainsi, il n’y a plus de temporalité… Quand le confinement sera fini, vous serez surpris que cela soit déjà terminé !”

Penser le monde après le Covid-19

Soigner les relations

Bertrand conseille également de soigner les relations si l’on partage ce moment avec quelqu’un. C’est l’occasion d’apprendre à communiquer. “La communication n’est pas que le partage d’informations qui peut aboutir à un conflit. La communication peut aussi être d’exprimer ce que l’on ressent à l’intérieur”. Bertrand Piccard n’idéalise pas pour autant ce moment. Il se souvient de tous ceux qui souffrent. Pour eux, la crise est particulièrement violente sur le plan sanitaire, social et économique. Mais il souhaiterait que quelque chose de positif et durable puisse émerger de cette situation difficile.

“Faites de ce moment une aventure… Acceptez que le confinement est une aventure et non une crise.”

Et le monde d’après le Covid-19 ?

Tout au long des 50 dernières années, les solutions proposées pour arriver à un développement durable étaient de réduire… Réduire le mode de vie, réduire le confort… Mais aujourd’hui des solutions protégeant l’environnement, créant de l’emploi, et profitant à l’industrie existent, et ce pionnier déplore que cela ne soit pas suffisamment su et compris. Pour cela, il est nécessaire d’identifier les technologies, les dispositifs, les matériaux, les produits qui peuvent dans le même temps protéger l’environnement, être une aide pour développer l’économie et créer de l’emploi. C’est ce que font les équipes de la Fondation Solar Impulse. Ils ont déjà identifié 450 initiatives qui ont été labellisées Solar Impulse Official Solution. Désormais Bertrand Piccard se rend disponible pour les gouvernements et les industries afin de leur montrer les outils à disposition qui n’opposent pas écologie et économie.

“Aujourd’hui l’écologie et l’économie peuvent fonctionner main dans la main.”

L’innovation au service de l’écologie

Dans cet entretien, Bertrand cite deux de ces innovations. Le séchoir solaire permet par exemple aux agriculteurs de conserver leurs récoltes sans avoir besoin d’un apport d’énergie supplémentaire. Cela permet de préserver leurs produits et de les vendre plus tard sans être soumis aux spéculations. Une autre de ces innovations est un revêtement textile sans solvant qui ne nuit pas à la santé des personnes qui le produisent ou qui le portent.

“Des nouveaux produits, pour une économie nouvelle et un nouveau monde.”

Réfléchir à ce qu'il se passera après le Covid-19...

Au cours de ces explorations Bertrand Piccard a compris qu’il fallait toujours faire mieux dans le futur que ce que l’on a fait dans le passé. Et pour le monde d’après le Covid-19, l’aventurier espère le meilleur.

“J’espère que nous allons apprendre à faire mieux que dans le passé. Quand j’entends les gens qui disent vouloir retrouver le statu quo que nous avions avant, c’est très dangereux, très très dangereux… Parce que le monde d’avant la crise du coronavirus était instable, fragile, inégalitaire, pollué… Il changeait le climat et ne disposait même pas d’une bonne croissance économique. Il y avait beaucoup de récessions avant le Coronavirus. Nous devons construire un monde meilleur, nous devons faire un monde plus sûr, plus équitable, et pour cela nous devons être plus inclusif. Nous devons inclure beaucoup plus de personnes dans le développement économique, créer de l’emploi, des richesses et implémenter des nouvelles technologies.”

Investir dans le développement durable

Aujourd’hui des milliards de dollars vont être injectés dans l’économie. Voulons-nous reconstruire ce que nous avons perdu ou voulons-nous construire quelque chose de meilleur ? Pour Bertrand Piccard, les gouvernements devraient demander aux bénéficiaires des garanties, afin que les dotations soient investies dans des installations durables sur les plans économique, écologique, et social. Cela permettrait de remplacer un système ancien peu efficace et polluant, par des infrastructures modernes, sûres, efficaces et propres, avec un bon retour sur investissement.

“Si nous le faisons pas maintenant après la crise du Covid-19, je ne pense pas que nous le ferons un jour…”

La pandémie pourrait bien être l’occasion pour nos sociétés de se réveiller et d’utiliser les technologies et solutions qui aboutissent dans le même temps à la croissance et la protection de l’environnement. Le sera t-elle ?

La rédaction