carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

10 tips from Bertrand Piccard to better experience confinement

Adventurer, pioneer, innovator, at the same time doctor and explorer, Bertrand Piccard is "a voice listened to within the largest institutions which today consider him to be an influential opinion leader on the themes of progress and sustainability". Son of oceanographer Jacques Piccard and grandson of physicist Auguste Piccard, he made the first round-the-world balloon ride in 1999 with British pilot Brian Jones. He also co-developed and co-piloted the Solar Impulse solar aircraft, with which he toured the world between March 2015 and July 2016, with only one tank of fuel.

SAsked many times for some advice to follow to survive confinement and forced isolation during the Covid-19 crisis, Bertrand Piccard chose to write 10 tips which helped him to live several weeks of his life confined in a solar balloon or in the cockpit of an airplane. We invite you to discover these ten tips from the article written in English for the Solar Impulse Foundation.

Avoid projecting yourself into the future

Do not hope that it will be over soon ... Counting the remaining days can quickly become torture. Focus in the present moment, become aware of what you are doing, thinking and feeling, perceiving that you exist throughout your body. A month or two at home can go by very quickly!

Find your "safe place"

It is important to have an interior experience of comfort and security. Developing a protective cocoon in visual, auditory or sensory form is the most useful baggage that Bertrand has taken with him on my expeditions.

Realize that this experience is unique

History will remember it and you are all, each at your own level, writing it.

Put your personal situation on a larger scale

Millions of people are going through the same thing as you right now. You are not alone.

Perceive the meaning of these moments

Containment is useful, it protects you and protects others, and that is paramount. Abused political prisoners are more likely to recover from their trauma when they experience their captivity as being linked to the cause they are defending. By traveling in a cramped cockpit Bertrand Piccard had an intention, that of promoting renewable energies, and that helped him to hold on.

Solar Impulse and Bertrand Piccard

Define the mindset you want to adopt

It is a choice that you must make consciously. Crisis or challenge? Test or teaching? A crisis that we accept becomes an adventure, with a goal to achieve. An adventure that we refuse becomes a crisis, with suffering ...

Accept the situation

Refusing an irreversible situation generates suffering. Accepting reality will help reduce your stress levels.

Courage or confidence?

When faced with a problem that is beyond you, courage will allow you to overcome fear, but confidence will take you further. You will be aware of this when circumstances force you to leave your usual references, and find that you have somewhere within you all the resources to move forward and be successful.

Learn to communicate

We live too much outside of ourselves rather than inside. If you are confined alone, relearn how to communicate with yourself. It is something that you have lost in the leisure and distraction society that you scatter into. Being alone becomes a revelation as soon as you start listening to your inner life again. If you are confined with othersThis is an opportunity to discover another way of communicating, not to exchange opinions which can become conflicting, but to express your feelings and emotions. Share your own experiences and take an interest in those of your neighbor, without criticism or reproach.

“In conclusion, everything I advise you here does not come alone. You have to learn it, practice it, repeat it. It is learning a new way of relating to oneself, to others and to life. You have time to do it now, so why deprive yourself? Once the confinement is over, the saddest thing would be to tell you that you did not take enough advantage of it to evolve… ”

Adapted from text written in English by Bertrand Piccard, psychiatrist and explorer, author of "Changer d'Altitude, some solutions to better live your life" published by Stock.

10 astuces de Bertrand Piccard pour mieux vivre le confinement

Aventurier, pionnier, innovateur, à la fois médecin et explorateur, Bertrand Piccard est « une voix écoutée au sein des plus grandes institutions qui le considèrent aujourd’hui comme un leader d’opinion influent sur les thèmes du progrès et de la durabilité ». Fils de l’océanographe Jacques Piccard et petit-fils du physicien Auguste Piccard, il a réussi le premier tour du monde en ballon en 1999 avec le pilote britannique Brian Jones. Il a également co-développé et co-piloté l’avion solaire Solar Impulse, avec lequel il a réalisé un tour du monde entre mars 2015 à juillet 2016, avec un seul plein de carburant.

Sollicité de nombreuses fois pour quelques conseils à suivre pour survivre au confinement et à l’isolement forcé pendant la crise du Covid-19, Bertrand Piccard a fait le choix de rédiger 10 astuces qui l’ont aidé à vivre plusieurs semaines de sa vie confiné dans un ballon solaire ou dans le cockpit d’un avion. Nous vous proposons de découvrir ces dix astuces issues de l’article rédigé en anglais pour la Fondation Solar Impulse.

Évitez de vous projeter dans l’avenir

Ne pas espérer que ce sera bientôt fini… Compter les jours restants peut vite devenir une torture. Concentrez-vous sur l’instant présent, prenez conscience de ce que vous faites, pensez et ressentez, en percevant que vous existez dans tout votre corps. Un ou deux mois à la maison peuvent passer très vite !

Trouvez votre “lieu sûr”

Il est important de vivre une expérience intérieure de confort et de sécurité. Développer sous forme visuelle, auditive ou sensorielle un cocon protecteur est le bagage le plus utile que Bertrand a emporté avec lui lors de mes expéditions.

Réalisez que cette expérience est unique

L’histoire s’en souviendra et vous êtes tous, chacun à votre niveau, en train de l’écrire.

Placez votre situation personnelle à une échelle plus large

Des millions de personnes vivent la même chose que vous en ce moment même. Vous n’êtes pas seul.

Percevez le sens de ces instants

Le confinement est utile, il vous protège et protège les autres, et cela est primordial. Les prisonniers politiques maltraités ont plus de probabilités de guérir de leur traumatisme quand ils vivent leur captivité comme étant liée à la cause qu’ils défendent. En voyageant dans un cockpit exigu Bertrand Piccard avait une intention, celle de promouvoir les énergies renouvelables, et cela l’a aidé à tenir.

Solar Impulse et Bertrand Piccard

Définissez l’état d’esprit que vous voulez adopter

C’est un choix que vous devez faire consciemment. Crise ou défi ? Épreuve ou enseignement ? Une crise que nous acceptons devient une aventure, avec un objectif à atteindre. Une aventure que nous refusons devient une crise, avec de la souffrance…

Acceptez la situation

Refuser une situation irréversible engendre de la souffrance. Accepter la réalité vous aidera à réduire votre niveau de stress.

Courage ou confiance ?

Face à un problème qui vous dépasse, le courage vous permettra de vaincre la peur, mais la confiance vous mènera plus loin. Vous en serez conscient lorsque les circonstances vous forceront à quitter vos références habituelles, et découvrirez que vous avez quelque part en vous, toutes les ressources pour avancer et réussir.

Apprenez à communiquer

Nous vivons trop à l’extérieur de nous-mêmes plutôt qu’à l’intérieur. Si vous êtes confiné seul, réapprenez à communiquer avec vous-même. C’est quelque chose que vous avez perdu dans la société des loisirs et de la distraction dans laquelle vous vous dispersez. Être seul devient une révélation dès que vous recommencez à écouter votre vie intérieure. Si vous êtes confiné avec d’autres, C’est l’occasion de découvrir une autre façon de communiquer, non pas d’échanger des opinions qui peuvent devenir conflictuelles, mais d’exprimer vos sentiments et émotions. Partagez vos propres expériences et intéressez-vous à celles de votre voisin, sans critique ni reproche.

“En conclusion, tout ce que je vous conseille ici ne vient pas seul. Il faut l’apprendre, le pratiquer, le répéter. C’est apprendre une nouvelle façon de se rapporter à soi-même, aux autres et à la vie. Vous avez le temps de le faire maintenant, alors pourquoi vous en priver ? Une fois le confinement terminé, le plus triste serait de vous dire que vous n’en avez pas suffisamment profité pour évoluer…”

La rédaction

Adapté du texte rédigé en anglais par Bertrand Piccard, psychiatre et explorateur, auteur de “Changer d’Altitude, quelques solutions pour mieux vivre sa vie” aux éditions Stock.