carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Bert Terhart: His round-the-world sailing solo in the purest tradition

Canadian Bert Terhart defines himself as a soldier, citizen scientist, serial entrepreneur and adventurer. And this XNUMX-year-old has set himself a challenge to his measure. Be the first North American to successfully circumnavigate, using only traditional navigation instruments!

Nsail non-stop solo through the world through the five great capes, but using only a sextant, pen, paper and navigation charts. Bert Terhart is in the process of successfully completing his incredible bet. Home straight for the skipper, who has traveled the oceans across the planet. It is moving up the Pacific Ocean towards its starting point, Victoria, British Columbia.

A sailboat prepared with care

Built in 1987 in Hamilton, Ontario by Hank Hinkley and a Canadian partner, the sailboat Seaburban is an OCY 45. Based on the hull of the Reliance 44, it is a versatile cruising boat designed by Pierre Meunier. It has been proven in the Atlantic and Pacific Oceans, as well as in Alaska and the Bering Sea. Bert Terhart has been sailing for 13 years aboard Seaburban. Questioned by Sails and Sailboats, he confided in the preparation of his sailboat.

“I gave it a total makeover, replacing what I wasn't sure about and reinforcing anything I thought wouldn't go the distance. "

An intense adventure

The solo sailor shares his experiences, his joys, his difficulties on his Facebook page dedicated to the event, The 5 Capes, Seaburban Around Alone.

One route and five capes

In turn, the adventurer crossed five capes. The mythical Cape Horn first of all, equivalent of the Himalayas for mountaineers. The southernmost point of the Tierra del Fuego Islands in South America, it is the official dividing point between the Atlantic and Pacific Oceans. Cape Agulhas is well known to sailors for the major danger on this route. Located at the southern tip of the African continent, it is the start of the dividing line between the Atlantic and Indian Oceans. Cape Leeuwin is the most southwestern continental point of the Australian continent.

Australians consider this site to be the meeting point between the Indian Ocean and the Southern Ocean. The south-eastern cape is located south of the main island of Tasmania. The places are known for the violence of the winds. Cape South is located on the south coast of Stewart Island in New Zealand. It is the southernmost point of Stewart Island, and one of New Zealand's 4 cardinal capes named by James Cook.

A rare challenge

Before 2019, alone Sir Robin Knox Johnston had accomplished the feat of a solo and unassisted circumnavigation, with traditional navigation instruments. It was in 1969, on the occasion of the Sunday Times Golden Globe race. 50 years later, only five navigators had reached the end of the edition of the Golden Globe Race. Having left on July 1, 2018, Jean-Luc Van Den Heede, Mark Slats, Uku Randmaa, Istvan Kopar and Tapio Lehtinen had concluded their world tour after long months of navigation, arriving between January and May 2019.

Sails

A new edition of the Golden Globe Race will take place soon. Departure planned for Les Sables d'Olonnes in 2022!

Bert Terhart : Son tour du monde à la voile en solitaire dans la plus pure tradition

Le canadien Bert Terhart se définit comme soldat, citoyen-scientifique, entrepreneur en série et aventurier. Et ce sexagénaire s’est fixé un défi à sa mesure. Être le premier Nord-Américain à réussir une circumnavigation, en n’utilisant que des instruments traditionnels de navigation !

Naviguer sans escale en solitaire à travers le monde en passant par les cinq grands caps, mais en n’utilisant qu’un sextant, un stylo, du papier et des cartes de navigation. Bert Terhart est en train d’achever avec succès son incroyable pari. Dernière ligne droite pour le skipper, qui a parcouru les océans à travers la planète. Il est en train de remonter l’océan Pacifique en direction de son point de départ, Victoria en Colombie-Britannique.

Un voilier préparé avec soin

Construit en 1987 à Hamilton en Ontario par Hank Hinkley et un partenaire canadien, le voilier Seaburban est un OCY 45. Basé sur la coque du Reliance 44, c’est un bateau de croisière polyvalent conçu par Pierre Meunier. Il a fait ses preuves sur les océans Atlantique et Pacifique, ainsi qu’en Alaska et dans la mer de Béring. Bert Terhart navigue depuis 13 ans à bord de Seaburban. Interrogé par Voiles et Voiliers, il s’est confié sur la préparation de son voilier.

“Je lui ai fait un refit total, en remplaçant ce dont je n’étais pas sûr et en renforçant tout ce que je pensais qui ne tiendrait pas la distance.”

Une aventure intense

Le navigateur en solitaire partage ses expériences, ses joies, ses difficultés sur sa page Facebook dédiée à l’évènement, The 5 Capes, Seaburban Around Alone.

Un itinéraire et cinq caps

Tour à tour, l’aventurier a franchi cinq caps. Le mythique cap Horn tout d’abord, équivalent de l’Himalaya pour les alpinistes. Point le plus au sud des îles de la Terre de feu en Amérique du Sud, il est le point de partage officiel entre les océans Atlantique et Pacifique. Le cap Agulhas est bien connu des marins pour le danger majeur sur cette route. Situé à la pointe sud du continent africain, il est le début de la ligne de démarcation entre les océans Atlantique et Indien. Le cap Leeuwin est le point continental le plus au sud-ouest du continent australien.

Les australiens considèrent que ce site est le point de rencontre entre l’océan Indien et l’océan Austral. Le cap Sud-Est se situe au sud de l’île principale de la Tasmanie. Les lieux sont connus pour la violence des vents. Le cap Sud se situe quant-à lui sur la côte Sud de l’île Stewart en Nouvelle-Zélande. Il est le point le plus au sud de l’île Stewart, et l’un des 4 caps cardinaux néo-zélandais nommé par James Cook.

Un défi rare

Avant 2019, seul Sir Robin Knox Johnston avait accompli l’exploit d’une circumnavigation en solitaire et sans assistance, avec des instruments de navigation traditionnels. C’était en 1969, à l’occasion de la course du Golden Globe du Sunday Times. 50 ans plus tard, seuls cinq navigateurs étaient arrivés au terme de la édition du Golden Globe Race. Partis le 1er juillet 2018, Jean-Luc Van Den Heede, Mark Slats, Uku Randmaa, Istvan Kopar et Tapio Lehtinen avaient conclu leur tour de monde après de longs mois de navigation, en arrivant entre janvier et mai 2019.

Voilier

Une nouvelle édition de la Golden Globe Race se déroulera prochainement. Départ prévu aux Sables d’Olonnes en 2022 !

La rédaction