carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Along the water in the heart of the Ardèche gorges

Over thirty kilometers, from Vallon-Pont-d'Arc to Saint-Martin d'Ardèche, the Gorges de l'Ardèche are an invitation to micro-adventure.

Ldizzying e canyon of the Ardèche gorges hollowed out by time in the limestone plateau, winds through the Mediterranean scrubland. The white, gray or pink limestone cliffs plunge into peaceful green water in places, but tumultuous in other places. The iconic XNUMX-meter-high natural arch stands out proudly. The setting is idyllic for a descent along the water, in the exceptional preserved natural setting that constitutes the gorges of the Ardèche.

A natural reserve

Since 1980, the Gorges de l'Ardèche have been classified as Nature reserve. Land use planning and tourism development are thus regulated. The cultural heritage and the environment are then preserved. The 1 hectares of the reserve are home to a varied and abundant flora and fauna. Bonelli's eagles, jackdaws, otters, bats, snakes… But also European beavers, wild boars and wild goats share the place with amazed visitors. From mountain influences in the west to Mediterranean scents in the south, the Ardèche gorges nature reserve is a site of choice for nature lovers.

The Lutra lutra can be discovered in the gorges of the Ardèche
The Lutra lutra can be discovered in the gorges of the Ardèche

An important label

The Syndicat de Gestion des Gorges de l'Ardèche work in partnership with guides and instructors working in the Gorges de l'Ardèche. All are driven by the desire to preserve their environment. They therefore wished to promote a practice of sport that respects the environment. They have as well developed the label Nature Guide of the Gorges de l'Ardèche. This guide “guarantees the public a qualitative approach to this still preserved site”. By choosing certified professionals, athletes are therefore part of a process of preserving the gorges.

Several tailor-made routes in the Ardèche gorges

From the age of 7, adventurers can embark on an immersion in the heart of nature. Several formulas are offered to individuals, groups and families. The mini-descent of 2 hours and 8 kilometers ends at the Pont d'Arc. She constitutes an extraordinary initiation to canoeing. The great 25-kilometer descent starting from the downstream side of the Pont d'Arc offers a full day of adventure. For an even more intense experience, it is also possible to do a course over two days, including an unforgettable bivouac under the stars. And if the effort does not tempt you, the boatmen offer an immersion in the tradition of river transport in the heart of the limestone cliffs.

The famous Pont d'Arc in the Ardèche gorges
The famous Pont d'Arc in the Ardèche gorges

The gorges of the Ardèche: A variety of possibilities for athletes of all levels

Si the canoe is king in the gorges, visitors can taste many other sporting pleasures. Hiking allow you to discover the cultural heritage of the site. MTB trails offer significant height differences on stony terrain. Fisherman can reconnect with a strong ancestral tradition of this region.

A maze of galleries and underground caves

The permeable soil of Ardèche does not retain surface water, which is quickly absorbed before circulating in a maze of underground galleries and rivers suitable for exploration. The network of Saint-Marcel caves alone exceeds 50 kilometers. Soil erosion by water has given way to multiple caves and sinkholes, these majestic natural abysses once inhabited by man for some. The most famous of the inhabited caves in the region is certainly the Chauvet cave, whose reconstruction is a technical and artistic feat to visit with the family. Some caves have also been fitted out for the visit, such as Madeleine, Saint-Marcel or Aven Marzal. Supervised by qualified instructors, the more adventurous can also learn about caving in the Ardèche basement.

Caves of Saint-Marcel d'Ardèche
Caves of Saint-Marcel d'Ardèche

"Amazed by the Ardèche" is the promise to visitors. With its natural arch, its meanders, its limestone cliffs, its flowing water and its sumptuous panoramic points of view, this nature reserve takes up this challenge magnificently.

Au fil de l’eau au coeur des gorges de l’Ardèche

Sur une trentaine de kilomètres, de Vallon-Pont-d’Arc à Saint-Martin d’Ardèche, les Gorges de l’Ardèche sont une invitation à la micro-aventure.

Le vertigineux canyon des gorges de l’Ardèche creusé par le temps dans le plateau calcaire, serpente à travers la garrigue méditerranéenne. Les falaises de calcaire blanc, gris ou rose plongent dans une eau verte paisible par endroit, mais tumultueuse en d’autres lieux. L’emblématique arche naturelle de soixante mètres de haut s’impose fièrement. Le cadre est idyllique pour une descente au fil de l’eau, dans le cadre naturel préservé exceptionnel que constitue les gorges de l’Ardèche.

Une réserve naturelle

Depuis 1980, les Gorges de l’Ardèche sont classées en Réserve Naturelle. L’aménagement du territoire et le développement touristique sont ainsi régulés. Le patrimoine culturel et l’environnement sont préservés. Les 1 575 hectares de la réserve abritent une faune et une flore variées et abondantes. Aigles de Bonelli, choucas, loutres, chauves-souris, couleuvres… Mais aussi castors d’Europe, sangliers et chèvres sauvages partagent les lieux avec les visiteurs émerveillés. Des influences montagnardes à l’ouest aux senteurs méditerranéennes au sud, la réserve naturelle des gorges de l’Ardèche est un site de choix pour les amoureux de la nature.

La Lutra lutra peut se laisser découvrir dans les gorges de l'Ardèche
La Lutra lutra peut se laisser découvrir dans les gorges de l’Ardèche

Un label important

Le Syndicat de Gestion des Gorges de l’Ardèche en partenariat avec les guides et moniteurs évoluant dans les Gorges de l’Ardèche, sontt animés par la volonté de préserver leur environnement. Ils ont donc souhaité valoriser une pratique du sport de nature respectueuse de l’environnement. Ils ont ainsi développé le label Guide Nature des Gorges de l’Ardèche. Ce guide “garantit au public une approche qualitative de ce site encore préservé”.  En choisissant des professionnels labellisés, les sportifs s’inscrivent alors dans une démarche de préservation des gorges.

Plusieurs parcours à la carte

Dès l’âge de 7 ans, les aventuriers peuvent embarquer pour une immersion en pleine nature. Plusieurs formules sont proposées aux individuels, groupes et familles. La mini-descente de 2 heures et 8 kilomètres aboutit au pont d’Arc. Elle constitue une extraordinaire initiation au canoë. La grande descente de 25 kilomètres au départ de l’aval du pont d’Arc, offre quant-à-elle une journée entière d’aventures. Pour une expérience encore plus intense, il est possible de réaliser un parcours sur deux journées, incluant un inoubliable bivouac sous les étoiles. Et si l’effort ne vous tente pas, les bateliers proposent une immersion dans la tradition du transport fluvial au coeur des falaises calcaires.

Le célèbre Pont d'Arc des gorges d'Ardèche
Le célèbre Pont d’Arc des gorges d’Ardèche

Une diversité de possibilités pour les sportifs de tout niveau

Si le canoë est roi dans les gorges, les visiteurs peuvent goûter bien d’autres plaisirs sportifs. Les randonnées pédestres permettent de découvrir le patrimoine culturel du site. Les sentiers de VTT offrent des dénivelés importants sur des terrains caillouteux. Les pêcheurs peuvent quant-à-eux renouer avec une tradition ancestrale forte de cette région.

Un dédale de galeries et de grottes souterraines

Le sol perméable d’Ardèche ne conserve pas l’eau en surface, qui est vite absorbée avant de circuler dans un dédale de galeries et rivières souterraines propices à l’exploration. Le réseau des grottes de Saint-Marcel dépasse à lui seul les 50 kilomètres. L’érosion des sols par l’eau a laissé place à de multiples grottes et avens, ces abîmes naturels majestueux jadis habités par l’homme pour certains. La plus célèbre des grottes habitées de la région est certainement la grotte Chauvet, dont la reconstitution est une prouesse technique et artistique à visiter en famille. Certaines grottes ont par ailleurs été aménagées pour la visite, telles que la Madeleine, Saint-Marcel ou l’aven Marzal. Encadrés par des moniteurs diplômés, les plus aventureux peuvent également s’initier à la spéléologie dans le sous-sol ardéchois.

Grottes de Saint-Marcel d'Ardèche
Grottes de Saint-Marcel d’Ardèche

“Émerveillés par l’Ardèche” est la promesse faite aux visiteurs. Avec son arche naturelle, ses méandres, ses falaises calcaires, son eau vive et ses somptueux points de vue panoramique, cette réserve naturelle relève magnifiquement ce défi.

La rédaction