carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

After a 72-day transatlantic row, Stéphane arrives in a confined world

It left land in mid-February and has just set foot on the other side of the Atlantic. In the meantime, the whole world has been shaken by a now well-known virus. By paddling the Atlantic, Stéphane Brogniart has just concluded the seventh challenge of his Etarcos project.

Stéphane Brogniart is well known in the trail world. This Vosges, ultra-traileur, lecturer and mental trainer has accomplished many exploits on dry land, from the Ultra-Trail of Mont-Blanc to the Grand Raid of Reunion. But now he is well beyond his comfort zone and his mountain origins. Stéphane left the Canaries on February 14 on board his boat. After 72 days spent rowing, he finally reached the Martinique coast on April 26, after having covered 5 kilometers with the sole strength of his arms and against all odds….

The Ertacos project

This rowing transatlantic is just one step in a larger project, the Ertacos project. Stéphane Brogniart has already accomplished 7 sporting and human challenges among the ten he wishes to achieve. The high point of this extraordinary adventure will be the crossing of the South Pacific Ocean by oar, in total autonomy! An adventure planned for 2021 which will require between 5 and 6 months of intense effort ...

Already seven challenges accomplished in two years

It all started 2 years ago, on April 19, 2018 with the tour of the Vosges on roller skis, then a first contact with the water through the Swimrun of the Vermeille coast. In July 2018, Stéphane launched his boat for a crossing of the Mediterranean, before returning to the mountains for the Grande Traversée du Mercantour, the biggest trail ever made by Stéphane. In April 2019, return to the water for the crossing of Lake Geneva, then the Atlantic off Brest which was the last stage before the transatlantic.

An exceptional logbook

Throughout his crossing, after rowing for 12 hours, Stéphane took a moment each evening to write his logbook. He describes the emotions felt throughout this extraordinary “initiatory journey”.

“Despite everything, overall I leave my skin before the start to take what awaits me. I am entering fully into my adventure. The shovels are starting to be more suitable than the ones I give on the puddle. It is very meditation in movement this gesture of the oceanic oar. Going alone in a small boat, in such an environment, it's an initiatory journey, that's for sure. "

Arrival in a confined world

Leaving the Canaries, Stéphane probably did not imagine that he would return to a confined world. The return to reality was quite surprising, since it was with the greatest respect for social distancing and barrier gestures that took place his arrival in Martinique!

"I landed in a different world from the one I left ..."

A final challenge now awaits the adventurer… Crossing the Pacific by oar. In 2021, Stéphane Brogniart will leave Peru in his boat. Direction New Caledonia. An adventure of several months, that the drafting of Welcome Outdoor will follow with the greatest enthusiasm.

Après une transatlantique à la rame de 72 jours, Stéphane débarque dans un monde confiné

Il a quitté la terre à la mi-février et vient de poser le pied de l’autre côté de l’Atlantique. Entre temps, le monde entier a été ébranlé par un virus désormais bien connu. En traversant l’Atlantique à la rame, Stéphane Brogniart vient de conclure le septième défi de son Projet Etarcos.

Stéphane Brogniart est bien connu dans le monde du trail. Ce vosgien, ultra-traileur, conférencier et préparateur mental a accompli de nombreux exploits sur la terre ferme, de l’Ultra-Trail du Mont-Blanc au Grand Raid de la Réunion. Mais le voilà désormais bien au-delà de sa zone de confort et des ses origines montagnardes. Stéphane a quitté les Canaries le 14 février dernier à bord de son bateau. Après 72 jours passés à ramer, il a finalement atteint les côtes martiniquaises le 26 avril, après avoir parcouru 5 000 kilomètres à la seule force de ses bras et contre vents et marées….

Le projet Ertacos

Cette transatlantique à la rame n’est qu’une étape d’un projet plus vaste, le projet Ertacos. Stéphane Brogniart a déjà accompli 7 défis sportifs et humains parmi la dizaine qu’il souhaite réaliser. Le point d’orgue de cette aventure hors norme sera la traversée de l’océan Pacifique sud à la rame, en totale autonomie ! Une aventure prévue pour 2021 qui nécessitera entre 5 et 6 mois d’effort intense…

Déjà sept défis accomplis en deux ans

Tout a commencé il y a 2 ans, le 19 avril 2018 avec le tour des Vosges en ski roues, puis un premier contact avec l’eau au travers du Swimrun de la côte Vermeille. En juillet 2018, Stéphane met son bateau à l’eau pour une traversée de la Méditerranée, avant un retour en montagne pour la Grande Traversée du Mercantour, le plus grand trail jamais réalisé par Stéphane. En avril 2019, retour à l’eau pour la traversée du Lac Léman, puis l’Atlantique au large de Brest qui a été la dernière étape avant la transatlantique.

Un journal de bord exceptionnel

Tout au long de sa traversée, après avoir ramé pendant 12 heures, Stéphane prenait chaque soir un moment pour écrire son journal de bord. Il y décrit les émotions ressenties tout au long de ce “voyage initiatique” hors du commun.

“Malgré tout, globalement je quitte ma peau d’avant le départ pour prendre celle de ce qui m’attend. Je suis en train de rentrer pleinement dans mon aventure. Les coups de pelles commencent à être plus adaptés que ceux que je donne sur la flaque. C’est très méditation en mouvement ce geste de la rame océanique. Partir seul dans un petit bateau, dans un tel environnement, c’est un voyage initiatique, c’est certain.”

Une arrivée dans un monde confiné

En quittant les Canaries, Stéphane n’imaginait sans doute pas qu’il reviendrait dans un monde confiné. Le retour à la réalité a été bien surprenant, puisque c’est dans le plus grand respect de la distanciation sociale et des gestes barrières que s’est déroulée son arrivée en Martinique !

“J’ai débarqué dans un monde différent de celui que j’ai quitté…”

Un ultime défi attend désormais l’aventurier… La traversée du Pacifique à la rame. En 2021, Stéphane Brogniart quittera le Pérou dans son embarcation. Direction la Nouvelle-Calédonie. Une aventure de plusieurs mois, que la rédaction de Welcome Outdoor suivra avec le plus grand enthousiasme.

La rédaction