carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Discovering the gastronomy of the Basque Country

At the crossroads of Spanish, Gascon and Béarnese cuisine, the gastronomy of the Basque Country rhymes with generosity, flavors and conviviality.

De the chain of Pyrenees at the Bay of Biscay, the Basque country French is a territory at the same time anchored in its traditions. But it has also imbibed the cultures that surround it. From the influence of its neighbors, Basque cuisine has taken the best to enrich its tasty gastronomy, colorful and full of character. pintxos et Tripotx, Espelette pepper and piquillo, Basque cake and ossau-iraty, Izarra et Patxaran are the delight of the Basques and their guests.

A remarkable location

The geography of Pays Basque offers its inhabitants a variety of local products. The ocean brings seafood. The mountain offers delicious cheeses and exceptional cold meats. The valley provides an abundance of the famous peppers, wines and cakes. All these products have made this corner of France famous.

Mountains and farms of the Basque Country
Breeding and traditions in the Basque mountains.

A strong culture

In the same way as songs, dances, sports or language, gastronomy is an integral part of Basque heritage. Historically, the inhabitants of towns and villages have come together to rejoice and take on sporting and culinary challenges.

Gastronomy of the Basque Country: The history of pintxos

It was in the bars of San Sebastián - Donostia in Basque - that the pintxos. On the occasion of the holidays, some bars in the city have started offering small portions of traditional dishes arranged on slices of bread. The cooks began to concoct the pintxos.  These sandwiches topped with fish, cold meats, vegetables, meats or shellfish are then an immediate success. Since this period, these cousins ​​of tapas have been served at festivals and popular gatherings. The pintxos became one of the most popular specialties summer visitors.

The tradition of Pintxos
Variety of Pintxos

Seafood

In the Basque Country, many traditional fisheries are still practiced. Markets are overflowing with freshly caught tuna, sardines, anchovies, clams and crabs. These products are then found in the kitchens of restaurateurs. Among the most famous specialties, squids are dsmall squids with onions, tomatoes and peppers. Fried red tuna stuffed with piperade is an iconic dish. We can also mention hake koxkera, sea breamOiartzun or the stuffed crab, called crab. A final specialty based on pieces of hake, langoustines, mussels, garlic and onions can be found in the Basque Country. The Ttoro is a fish soup, formerly made at sea by fishermen during cod fishing periods.

Local products at the heart of Basque gastronomy

Cold meats from the Ossau and Aspe valleys, But also Bayonne ham are essential allies for aperitifs and festive evenings. Among the specialties, let's not forget the fiddling, a Basque sausage garnished with onions, or its cousin the tripotxa, made with sheep. Pork and lamb are undoubtedly the most consumed meats in the Basque Country. Yet it is Basque chicken cooked with piperade, which is the most famous of Basque meat dishes. In the Basque Country, chili peppers play a major role in cooking. The town of Espelette has even made it its emblem. The garlands of dried peppers arranged on the facades of the houses are intimately linked to the image of this small Basque town.

Basque chicken
Famous Basque chicken

Cheeses, cakes and spirits

To conclude this overview of Basque gastronomy, we must mention Basque cheeses. L'ossau-iraty, the roncal andidiazabal or even the famous and generous Basque cake delight the guests at the end of the meal. On the alcohol side, four appellations of origin are the pride of Basque winegrowers. Two liqueurs - theizarra and patxaran - to be enjoyed in moderation with friends. The local cider, the sagardotegi continues to compete with its Norman ancestor on the tables of the Basque Country.

À la découverte de la gastronomie du Pays Basque

À la croisée de la cuisine espagnole, gasconne et béarnaise, la gastronomie du Pays Basque rime avec générosité, saveurs et convivialité.

De la chaîne des Pyrénées au golfe de Gascogne, le Pays Basque français est un territoire à la fois ancré dans ses traditions. Mais il s’est également imprégné des cultures qui l’entourent. De l’influence de ses voisines, la cuisine basque a su prélever le meilleur pour enrichir sa savoureuse gastronomie, colorée et pleine de caractère. Pintxos et Tripotx, piment d’Espelette et piquillo, gateau basque et ossau-iraty, Izarra et Patxaran font le délice des basques et de leurs invités.

Une localisation remarquable

La géographie du Pays Basque offre à ses habitants une diversité de produits du terroir. L’océan apporte les produits de la mer. La montagne offre de délicieux fromages et des charcuteries exceptionnelles. La vallée fournit quant-à-elle avec abondance les célèbres piments, vins et gâteaux. Tous ces produits ont fait la renommée de ce coin de France.

Montagnes et élevages du Pays Basque

Élevages et traditions dans les montagnes basques.

Une culture forte

De la même manière que les chants, les danses, les sports ou la langue, la gastronomie fait partie intégrante du patrimoine basque. Depuis toujours, les habitants des villes et des villages se réunissent pour se réjouir et se lancer des défis sportifs et culinaires.

L’histoire des pintxos

C’est dans les bars de Saint-Sébastien – Donostia en basque – que sont nés les Pintxos. À l’occasion des fêtes, certains bars de la ville ont commencé à proposer des petites portions de plats traditionnels disposées sur des tranches de pain. Les cuisiniers ont commencé à concocter les pintxos.  Ces tartines garnies de poissons, de charcuteries, de légumes, de viandes ou de coquillages ont alors un succès immédiat. Depuis cette période, ces cousins des tapas sont servis lors des fêtes et rassemblements populaires. Les Pintxos sont devenus l’une des spécialités les plus appréciés des estivants.

La tradition des Pintxos

Variété de Pintxos

Les produits de la mer

Au Pays Basque, de nombreuses pêches traditionnelles sont toujours pratiquées. Les marchés débordent ainsi de thons, sardines, anchois, palourdes et crabes fraîchement pêchés. On retrouve ensuite ces produits dans les cuisines des restaurateurs. Parmi les spécialités les plus célèbres, les chipirons sont des petits encornets aux oignons, tomates et poivrons. Le thon rouge frit farci à la piperade est un plat emblématique. On peut également mentionner le merlu koxkera, la daurade d’Oiartzun ou le crabe farci, appelé txangurro. Une dernière spécialité à base de morceaux de merlu, langoustines, moules, ail et oignons se découvre au Pays Basque. Le Ttoro est une soupe de poissons, autrefois confectionnée en mer par les pêcheurs lors des périodes de pêche à la morue.

Les produits de la terre

Les charcuteries des vallées d’Ossau et d’Aspe, mais aussi le jambon de Bayonne sont les alliés indispensables des apéritifs et des soirées festives. Parmi les spécialités, n’oublions pas non plus le tripota, un boudin basque garni d’oignons, ou son cousin le tripotxa, réalisé avec du mouton. Le porc et l’agneau sont sans doute les viandes les plus consommés au Pays Basque. C’est pourtant le poulet basquaise cuisiné avec de la piperade, qui est le plus connu des plats basques à base de viande. Au Pays Basque, le piment joue un rôle majeur dans la cuisine. La ville d’Espelette en a même fait son emblème. Les guirlandes de piments séchés disposées sur les façades des maisons sont intimement liées à l’image de cette petite ville basque.

Poulet basquaise

Célèbre poulet basquaise

Fromages, gâteaux et alcools

Pour conclure ce tour d’horizon de la gastronomie basque, il faut mentionner les fromages basques. L‘ossau-iraty, le roncal et l’idiazabal ou encore le célèbre et généreux gâteau basque ravissent les convives à la fin des repas. Côté alcools, quatre appellations d’origine font la fierté des vignerons basques. Deux liqueurs – l’izarra et le patxaran – se dégustent avec modération entre amis. Le cidre local, le sagardotegi continue de concurrencer son ancêtre normand sur les tables du Pays Basque.

La rédaction