carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Discovering the gastronomy of Brittany

Both facing the sea and the land, the gastronomy of Brittany is known throughout the world. This generous land indeed offers a diversity of local products. From fish to seafood, from growing fruit and vegetables to breeding pigs… Everything comes together in Brittany to develop a rich and varied culinary heritage.

Lhe gastronomy of Brittany is well known for its pancakes and pancakes. But these delicious specialties are only the best known part of Breton heritage. While traveling the roads of Brittany, let yourself be seduced by the warm welcome of the inns and traditional restaurants. The enthusiasts who are in the kitchen are able to sublimate local and seasonal products. You will thus discover a multi-faceted gastronomy and exceptional flavors.

Pancakes or pancakes?

Over time, creperies have chosen to distinguish buckwheat pancakes from pancakes made from wheat. However, the distinction between the two specialties may in reality turn out to be more complex than it appears. Some believe that the difference between pancakes and pancakes is just a matter of terminology. We would thus speak of pancakes in Lower Brittany. While in Haute Bretagne, it would be more a question of pancakes for the main course, and pancakes for the dessert. Difficult to navigate! But one thing and certain, you will not find anywhere else than in Brittany, such delicious complete pancakes or tasty salted butter caramel pancakes.

Pancakes or pancakes?

Fish and seafood

Due to its geography, Brittany has a vast coastline. Here, people have always known how to exploit the riches of the ocean. The seafood sublimated by restaurateurs can be tasted in any season. Once installed on the terrace, let yourself be enchanted by the view of the Gulf of Morbihan. Then savor beautiful iodized oysters ou a tray of seafood garnished with freshly caught spiders, cakes and langoustines. In the privacy of an alcove, enjoy a tasty sole or a Breton monkfish with cream in the evening. What if you opted for Cancale marinated mussels with bacon, served with homemade fries? On winter evenings, let yourself be lulled by the crackling of wood in the fireplace, enjoying a fish soup made from the product of local fishing.

Brittany oysters

Varied vegetables hold a great place in the gastronomy of Brittany

Brittany has of fertile agricultural land. New potatoes from the Île de Batz, strawberries from Plougastel, chestnuts from Redon, onions from Roscoff, coconut beans from Paimpol, cauliflower, artichokes, carrots, apples, squirrel melon and lamb's lettuce the pride of Breton farmers. These products make possible a variety of healthy and vitamin recipes with local flavors.

Small purple artichokes from Brittany

Meats and cold cuts

During a stay in Brittany, it is difficult to ignore the blood sausage or the famous Guéméné andouille. All over Brittany, butchers offer their own andouille recipes and their specialties with well-kept secrets. Another peculiarity of Brittany is the pre-salted lamb, raised on pastureland of salt meadows which give the meat a refined flavor.

Specialties of the gastronomy of Brittany

Butter, cookies and desserts

In Brittany, butter is a star. Present in each of the desserts, but also in the cookies that have made the reputation of the place, it enchants young and old. The galettes of Pont-Aven, Pleyben, Fouesnant or Saint-Michel .. But also the lace pancakes from Quimper, traou-mad, or Breton pucks can be enjoyed at tea time and at tea time. Desserts side, the kouign-amann is without a doubt one of the most famous and perhaps also one of the most caloric desserts in Brittany! In Brittany, theBreton fars, sweet pancakes, applesauce satisfy young and old.

Drinks linked to the gastronomy of Brittany

You will have understood that the gastronomy of Brittany is a paradise for gourmets. And they will not be disappointed by discovering the local drinks elsewhere. Sweet and raw ciders go wonderfully with pancakes. And what to say craft beers produced by local breweries, such as Coreff ambrée from Morlaix or Telenn Du, this organic buckwheat cervoise. Brittany is also a land of whiskey. For example, the Warenghem distillery produces the Single Malt Armorik there. And if you like new experiences, do not miss the drink of the druids and the newlyweds! The subtle scents of mead, called chouchen in Brittany, will delight the most demanding visitors.

À la découverte de la gastronomie de la Bretagne

À la fois tournée vers la mer et vers la terre, la gastronomie de la Bretagne est connue à travers le monde entier. Cette terre généreuse offre en effet une diversité de produits du terroir. Des poissons aux fruits de mer, de la culture de fruits et légumes à l’élevage de porcs… Tout est réuni en Bretagne pour développer un patrimoine culinaire riche et varié.

La gastronomie de la Bretagne est bien connue pour ses crêpes et ses galettes. Mais ces délicieuses spécialités ne sont que la partie la plus connue du patrimoine breton. En sillonnant les routes de Bretagne, laissez-vous séduire par l’accueil chaleureux des auberges et des restaurants traditionnels. Les passionnés qui sont en cuisine sont capables de sublimer les produits locaux et de saison. Vous découvrirez ainsi une gastronomie aux multiples facettes et aux saveurs exceptionnelles.

Crêpes ou galettes ?

Avec le temps, les crêperies ont fait le choix de distinguer les galettes de sarrasin, des crêpes réalisées à base de froment. Mais, la distinction des deux spécialités peut en réalité se révéler plus complexe qu’il n’y paraît. Certains estiment que la différence entre crêpes et galettes n’est qu’une question de terminologie. On parlerait ainsi de crêpes en Basse Bretagne. Alors qu’en Haute Bretagne, il serait plutôt question de galettes pour le plat et de crêpes pour le dessert. Difficile de s’y retrouver, mais une chose et certaine, vous ne trouverez nulle part ailleurs qu’en Bretagne, de si délicieuses galettes complètes ou de savoureuses crêpes au caramel beurre salé.

Crêpes ou galettes ?

Poissons et fruits de mer

Du fait de sa géographie, la Bretagne dispose d’un vaste littoral. Ici les hommes ont toujours su exploiter les richesses de l’océan. Les produits de la mer sublimés par les restaurateurs se dégustent d’ailleurs en toute saison. Une fois installé en terrasse, laissez-vous enchanter par la vue sur le golfe du Morbihan. Savourez ensuite de belles huîtres iodées ou un plateau de fruits de mer garni d’araignées, de tourteaux et de langoustines fraichement pêchés. Dans l’intimité d’une alcove, dégustez en soirée une savoureuse sole, une lotte bretonne à la crème ou des moules marinières de Cancale au lard, accompagnées de frites maison. Les soirs d’hiver, laissez-vous bercer par le crépitement du bois dans la cheminée, en appréciant une soupe de poissons confectionnée à partir du produit de la pêche locale.

Huîtres de Bretagne

Légumes variés

La Bretagne dispose de terres agricoles fertiles. Pommes de terre primeurs de l’île de Batz, fraises de Plougastel, châtaignes de Redon, oignons de Roscoff, haricots cocos de Paimpol, choux-fleurs, artichauts, carottes, pommes, melon petit-gris de Rennes et mâche font la fierté des agriculteurs bretons. Ces produits rendent possible une diversité de recettes saines et vitaminées aux saveurs locales.

Petits artichauts violets de Bretagne

Viandes et charcuterie

Lors d’un séjour en Bretagne, il est difficile de faire l’impasse sur le boudin ou sur la célèbre andouille de Guéméné. Partout en Bretagne, les charcutiers proposent leurs propres recettes de l’andouille et leurs spécialités aux secrets bien gardés. Une autre singularité de la Bretagne est l’agneau de pré-salé, élevé sur des terres herbagères de prés-salés qui confèrent à la viande une saveur raffinée.

Spécialités de la gastronomie de la Bretagne

Beurre, biscuits et desserts

En Bretagne, le beurre est une star. Présent dans chacun des desserts, mais aussi dans les biscuits qui ont fait la réputation des lieux, il enchante petits et grands. Les galettes de Pont-Aven, de Pleyben, de Fouesnant ou de Saint-Michel.. Mais aussi les crêpes dentelles de Quimper, les traou-mad, ou encore les palets bretons se dégustent au goûter et à l’heure du thé. Côté desserts, le kouign-amann est sans aucun doute l’un des plus célèbres et peut-être aussi l’un des plus caloriques desserts bretons ! En Bretagne, les fars bretons, les crêpes sucrées, les compotes de pommes comblent petits et grands.

Cidre, bière, whisky et hydromel

Vous l’aurez compris, la gastronomie de la Bretagne est un paradis pour les gourmets. Et ils ne seront pas déçus en découvrant par ailleurs les boissons locales. Les cidres doux et bruts accompagnent merveilleusement les galettes. Et que dire des bières artisanales produites par des brasseries locales, telles que la Coreff ambrée de Morlaix ou la la Telenn Du, cette cervoise bio au sarrasin. La Bretagne est également une terre de whisky. La distillerie Warenghem y produit par exemple le Single Malt Armorik. Et si vous aimez les expériences nouvelles, ne manquez pas la boisson des druides et des jeunes mariés ! Les parfums subtils de l’hydromel, appelé chouchen en Bretagne, raviront les visiteurs les plus exigeants.

La rédaction