carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

6 little-known places in France to discover as soon as possible

If you like to get off the beaten track and avoid the busiest places, we suggest you discover 6 little-known places in France, which are worth a detour.

France is an inexhaustible source of vacation destinations. On the beach, in the mountains, in cities or in the countryside, there are so many discoveries to be made that one life is not enough. It is therefore difficult to make a choice. But if the sight of the most popular beaches makes you dizzy ... If the queues remind you of the canteen ... You need to choose your next vacation destination, among the little-known places in France. Of course, unknown does not mean unknown or desert ... But by choosing among these sites, you will avoid the crowds of great days, while enjoying exceptional landscapes.

Mullein

In the Iroise Sea, in Finistère, the island of Molène is unlike any other. Its deep blue waters contrast with the light color of the sand of its sheltered beaches. 15 kilometers from the west coast of Finistère, this 127 hectare island is the largest in the Molène archipelago. The islets Bannec, Balanec, Quéménes, Litiry, Trielen, Ledenez, Béniguet or even Morgol are so many wonders to discover… Little-known places in France, steeped in the history of generations of sailors.

Little-known places in France, Molène

Lescun

In the Pyrénées-Atlantiques, Lescun is a haven of peace. This little-known place in France offers spectacular mountain landscapes. The small Bearn village is indeed nestled in the heart of Lescun circus and its dolomite peaks. The slate roofs, stone houses, wash houses and fountains give the small mountain village a serene atmosphere. At the gates of the Pyrenees National Park, Lescun is an important stage of the GR10. It is also the starting point for many exceptional hikes.

Lescun in the Pyrenees

The Calanque de la Redonne

If the crystalline waters of the creeks of Marseille attract you, this little corner of paradise located a little further to the west, and above all less frequented than its neighbors, will satisfy you. The alleys of the village of Ensues-la-Redonne lead to the narrow sandy or pebble beach. Then follow the customs path towards Niolon, passing by the sumptuous creeks of Anthénors, Figuière and Méjean. Change of scenery guaranteed ...

Little-known places in France La Redonne

The Gorges de la Sioule

In Auvergne, from Allier to Puy-de-Dôme, the Gorges de la Sioule wind through a landscape of rich, wild and protected biodiversity. The Queuille meander and its Amazonian allure is undoubtedly the most famous convolution of this impressive river. Impossible to resist the call of these steep and verdant gorges. A canoe trip is a must!

The gorges of the Sioule

The Chausey archipelago

In Normandy, north of the Bay of Mont-Saint-MichelIs another little-known site in France that awaits vacationers. Just 17 kilometers from Granville, the escape is very close! chausey is the only inhabited island of an eponymous archipelago. It is made up of about twenty islands and about fifty islets at high tide. The clear waters, the white sand beaches, the chapel, the fishing village and the semaphore are wonders to discover. During your visit to Chausey, keep an eye out! It is not uncommon to meet birds, seals and dolphins there.

Chausey archipelago

The chaos of Montpellier-le-Vieux or City of Stones

In the heart of the Grands Causses Regional Natural Park, overlooking the Dourbe gorges, this little-known site in France is exceptional. On 120 hectares of the Causse Noir, nature has shaped a lost city, an imaginary mineral town. A visit to these mysterious places is an invitation to let your imagination run wild. The towers, bastions and labyrinths of the City of Stones, formerly called chaos of Montpellier-le-Vieux, will leave you with lasting memories.

Little-known places in France, The chaos of Montpellier-le-Vieux

If you liked this article, don't miss this one:

French or international destinations? Don't believe your eyes!

carte welcome

Avec toute réservation, 1 an d'adhésion offert à la Carte Avantages Welcome.

10 000 offres sport et culture partout en France ainsi que 10% de remise sur vos futures réservations Welcome !

6 lieux méconnus de France à découvrir au plus vite

Si vous aimez sortir des sentiers battus et éviter les lieux les plus fréquentés, nous vous proposons de découvrir 6 lieux méconnus de France, qui valent le détour.

La France est une source intarissable de destinations de vacances. À la plage, à la montagne, dans les villes ou les campagnes, il y a tant de découvertes à faire, qu’une vie ne suffirait pas. Difficile donc de faire un choix. Mais si la vue des plages les plus prisées vous donne le vertige… Si les files d’attente vous rappellent la cantine… C’est que vous avez besoin de choisir votre prochaine destination de vacances, parmi les lieux méconnus de France. Bien sûr, méconnu ne signifie pas inconnu ou désert… Mais en choisissant parmi ces sites, vous éviterez la foule des grands jours, tout en profitant de paysages exceptionnels.

Molène

En mer d’Iroise, dans le Finistère, l’île de Molène ne ressemble à aucune autre. Ses eaux d’un bleu profond contrastent avec la couleur claire du sable de ses plages abritées. À 15 kilomètres de la côte-ouest du Finistère, cette île de 127 hectares est la plus vaste de l’archipel de Molène. Les îlots Bannec, Balanec, Quéménes, Litiry, Trielen, Ledenez, Béniguet ou encore Morgol sont autant de merveilles à découvrir… Des lieux méconnus de France, empreints de l’histoire de générations de marins.

Lieux méconnus de France, Molène

Lescun

Dans les Pyrénées-Atlantiques, Lescun est un havre de paix. Ce lieu méconnu de France offre des paysages montagneux spectaculaires. Le petit village béarnais est en effet niché au coeur du cirque de Lescun et de ses pics dolomitiques. Les toits en ardoise, les maisons en pierres, les lavoirs et fontaines, donnent au petit village de montagne, une atmosphère sereine. Aux portes du Parc National des Pyrénées, Lescun est une étape importante du GR10. Il est aussi le point de départ de nombreuses randonnées exceptionnelles.

Lescun dans les Pyrénées

La Calanque de la Redonne

Si les eaux cristallines des calanques de Marseille vous attirent, ce petit coin de paradis situé un peu plus à l’ouest, et surtout moins fréquenté que ses voisines, vous comblera. Les ruelles du village d’Ensuès-la-Redonne mènent à l’étroite plage de sable ou à celle de galets. Sillonnez ensuite par le sentier des douaniers en direction de Niolon, en passant par les somptueuses calanques des Anthénors, de Figuière et de Méjean. Dépaysement garanti…

Lieux méconnus de France La Redonne

Les Gorges de la Sioule

En Auvergne, de l’Allier au Puy-de-Dôme, les Gorges de la Sioule serpentent à travers un paysage d’une biodiversité riche, sauvage et protégée. Le méandre de Queuille et ses allures d’Amazonie est sans doute la plus célèbre circonvolution de cet impressionnant cours d’eau. Impossible de résister à l’appel de ces gorges escarpées et verdoyantes. Une sortie en canoë s’impose !

Les gorges de la Sioule

L’archipel de Chausey

En Normandie, au nord de la Baie du Mont-Saint-Michel, c’est un autre site méconnu de France qui attend les vacanciers. À seulement 17 kilomètres de Granville, l’évasion est toute proche ! Chausey est la seule île habitée d’un archipel éponyme. Il est constitué d’une vingtaine d’îles et d’une cinquantaine d’îlots à marée haute. Les eaux claires, les plages de sable blanc, la chapelle, le village de pêcheurs et le sémaphore sont des merveilles à découvrir. Lors de votre passage à Chausey, ouvrez l’oeil ! Il n’est pas rare en effet, d’y rencontrer des oiseaux, des phoques et des dauphins.

Archipel de Chausey

Le chaos de Montpellier-le-Vieux ou Cité des Pierres

Au coeur du Parc Naturel Régional des Grands Causses, en surplomb des gorges de la Dourbe, ce site méconnu de France est exceptionnel. Sur 120 hectares du causse noir, la nature a façonné une cité perdue, une ville minérale imaginaire. Une visite de ces lieux mystérieux est une invitation à laisser aller son imagination. Les tours, bastions et labyrinthes de la Cité des Pierres, autrefois appelée chaos de Montpellier-le-Vieux, vous laisseront un souvenir impérissable.

Lieux méconnus de France , Le chaos de Montpellier-le-Vieux

Si cet article vous a plu, ne manquez pas celui-ci :

Destinations françaises ou internationales ? N’en croyez pas vos yeux !