carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

5 must-see dive sites in mainland France

Experiment with weightlessness. Evolve in three dimensions. Feel free from the constraints of the surface. Explore a captivating aquatic and mineral environment. Meet rare animal and plant species… These are some of the reasons that make diving a unique experience. Discover in these lines 5 French dive sites that will leave you with unforgettable memories.

Dn all time, creatures living below the surface have fascinated people. The invention of the autonomous diving suit in the 45th century revolutionized marine exploration. But it is the conception of the first autonomous regulator by Jacques-Yves Cousteau and Émile Gagnan, which allowed the democratization of diving. With his famous aqua-lung (CGXNUMX) and his documentary series, Cousteau introduced the world of silence to the general public. He then sparked interest in the underwater world. Today, the pleasure of diving is available to all. In apnea, underwater hike or in a scuba, many dive sites exist at sea as in freshwater.

From Finistère to Morbihan, from Normandy to Savoy, from Vercors to Lot-Garonne and all along the Mediterranean from Banyuls to Port-Cros via Marseille… Ldive sites at sea, under ice or in underground galleries reveal magnificent treasures to athletes. Here are 5 extraordinary scuba diving sites to discover in mainland France.

The Lavezzi Islands

Off Bonifacio, the islets and granite reefs of Lavezzi Islands Nature Reserve up a preserved natural aquarium. There is indeed a much smaller tourist influx than the Scandola reserve. This little-known and difficult to access paradise offers divers a turquoise sea, clear waters and rocky bottoms with rich biodiversity. If the reserve contains spots up to 40 meters deep, beginner divers will also be satisfied. All you need is a mask and a snorkel to marvel at the flora and fauna present a few meters deep. Subject to currents and winds, it is however preferable to favor morning underwater outings.

Diving in the Lavezzi Islands

The Lot galleries

In the Lot, rocamadour, walnuts and farm lamb are not the only wonders to discover. This small department in southwestern France is a paradise for cave divers. It would even be the most beautiful European cave diving spot. Reserved for CMAS level 2 divers supervised by qualified caving instructors, these dives in the crystal clear waters of submerged limestone caves, springs, siphons and resurgences offer an unusual and magical dive.

In the galleries of the Lot

The wrecks of Normandy

For lovers of history and wreck diving, Normandy is a must. Between 12 and 25 meters deep, dozens of wrecks resulting from shipwrecks or the Normandy landings in 1944 are placed on the ground a stone's throw from the landing beaches. Among them, the USS Meredith III, Fort Norfolk or the Courbet delight divers of all levels. A rich fauna emblematic of the Channel populates the ships. The wrecks of Normandy are an immersion in history in the company of congers, bass, lobsters and spider crabs. What more could you ask for?

Wreck diving in Normandy

The dive sites of the Riou Archipelago

At the foot of the Plane, Jarre, Jarron, Maïre, Riou and Tiboulen de Maïre ​​islands located off the coast of Marseille, the varied underwater reliefs, the vertiginous drop-offs, the dense fauna, the clear waters and the multiple wrecks allow beginners and experienced divers to live an experience that meets their expectations. Groupers, red mullet, scorpion fish, gorgonians and red corals live at shallow depths on rocky bottoms, while pelagic fish such as wolves, sea bream or barracudas are visible near the drop-offs. When returning from the dive site, it is not uncommon to come across a few cetaceans, which abound in the Mediterranean, by boat.

The Frioul Islands

Lake Tignes

Sous the lake of Tignes in winter, it is not the discovery of flora and fauna that prevails, but the extraordinary experience of ice diving. Impossible to discover the marvelous natural spectacle and its play of light without adapted equipment. But once equipped and supervised by one of the professionals installed at the foot of the lake, it is a breathtaking experience which is offered to the most intrepid divers.

Lake Tignes in Winter is one of the unforgettable dive sites

5 sites de plongée incontournables en France métropolitaine

Expérimenter l’apesanteur. Évoluer dans les trois dimensions. Se sentir libre des contraintes de la surface. Explorer un milieu aquatique et minéral captivant. Rencontrer des espèces animales et végétales rares… Voilà quelques-unes des raisons qui font de la plongée une expérience unique. Découvrez dans ces lignes 5 sites de plongée français qui vous laisseront un souvenir inoubliable.

De tout temps, les créatures vivant sous la surface ont fasciné les hommes. L’invention du scaphandre autonome au XIXème siècle a révolutionné l’exploration marine. Mais c’est la conception du premier détendeur autonome par Jacques-Yves Cousteau et Émile Gagnan, qui a permis la démocratisation de le plongée. Avec son célèbre aqua-lung (CG45) et sa série de documentaires, Cousteau a présenté le monde du silence au grand public. Il a alors fait naître l’intérêt pour le monde sous-marin. Aujourd’hui, le plaisir de la plongée s’offre à tous. En apnée, en randonnée subaquatique ou en scaphandre autonome, de nombreux sites de plongée existent en mer comme en eau-douce.

Du Finistère au Morbihan, de la Normandie à la Savoie, du Vercors au Lot-Garonne et tout au long de la Méditerranée de Banyuls à Port-Cros en passant par Marseille… Les sites de plongée en mer, sous glace ou dans les galeries souterraines dévoilent aux sportifs de magnifiques trésors. Voici 5 sites de plongée sous-marine extraordinaires, à découvrir en France métropolitaine.

Les îles Lavezzi

Au large de Bonifacio, les îlots et récifs granitiques de la réserve naturelle des îles Lavezzi constituent un aquarium naturel préservé. Il connaît en effet une affluence touristique bien moindre que la réserve de Scandola. Ce paradis méconnu et difficile d’accès, offre aux plongeurs une mer turquoise, des eaux limpides et des fonds rocheux à la biodiversité riche. Si la réserve recèle de spots allant jusqu’à 40 mètres de fond, les plongeurs débutants seront également comblés. Il suffit en effet d’un masque et d’un tuba pour s’émerveiller de la faune et de la flore présente à quelques mètres de fond. Soumis aux courants et aux vents, il est toutefois préférable de privilégier les sorties subaquatiques matinales.

Plongée aux Îles Lavezzi

Les galeries du Lot

Dans le Lot, le rocamadour, les noix et l’agneau fermier ne sont pas les seuls merveilles à découvrir. Ce petit département du Sud-Ouest de la France est le paradis des plongeurs spéléologues. Il serait même le plus beau spot européen de plongée souterraine. Réservées aux plongeurs de niveau 2 CMAS encadrés par des moniteurs diplômés en spéléo, ces plongées dans les eaux cristallines des grottes calcaires immergées, des sources, des siphons et des résurgences offrent une plongée insolite et féérique.

Dans les galeries du Lot

Les épaves de Normandie

Pour les amateurs d’histoire et de plongée sur épaves, la Normandie est un incontournable. Entre 12 et 25 mètres de fond, des dizaines d’épaves issues de naufrages ou du débarquement de Normandie de 1944 sont posées sur le sol à quelques encablures des plages du débarquement. Parmi elles, l’USS Meredith III, le Fort Norfolk ou le Courbet font le bonheur des plongeurs de tout niveau. Une faune riche emblématique de la Manche peuple les navires. Les épaves de Normandie sont une immersion dans l’histoire en compagnie des congres, bars, homards et araignées de mer. Que demander de plus ?

Plongée sur épave en Normandie

L’Archipel du Riou

Au pied des îles Plane, Jarre, Jarron, Maïre, Riou et Tiboulen de Maïre situées au large de Marseille, les reliefs sous-marins variés, les tombants vertigineux, la faune dense, les eaux claires et les multiples épaves permettent aux plongeurs débutants et confirmés de vivre une expérience à la hauteur de leurs attentes. Mérous, rougets, rascasses, gorgones et coraux rouges vivent à faible profondeur sur les fonds rocheux, alors que les poissons pélagiques tels que les loups, les dorades ou les barracudas sont visibles aux abords des tombants. En revenant du site de plongée, il n’est pas rare de croiser en bateau quelques cétacés qui abondent en Méditerranée.

Les Îles du Frioul

Le lac de Tignes

Sous le lac de Tignes en hiver, ce n’est pas la découverte de la faune et de la flore qui prévaut, mais bien l’expérience extraordinaire de la plongée sous glace. Impossible de découvrir le merveilleux spectacle naturel et son jeu de lumière sans matériel adapté. Mais une fois équipé et encadré par l’un des professionnels installés au pied du lac, c’est une expérience à couper le souffle qui s’offre aux plongeurs les plus intrépides.

Le Lac de Tignes en Hiver est un des sites de plongée inoubliables

La rédaction