fbpx

Winter walking: 4 tips to equip yourself effectively before leaving

It's official, December 21 and its longest night made us fall into winter! But nothing to depress ... The days are starting to get longer, and the joys of walking in winter are just waiting for you! Provided of course not to ignore the equipment.

THEwinter is a wonderful season for walking and hiking. The paths are deserted, the sounds are muffled by the snow, the landscapes are magical, and in the heart of a dormant nature, there are many opportunities to taste the privilege of finally being alone in the world. So to keep your spirits up and take care of your health before spring, there's nothing like a fitness walking in the winter freshness. In the forest, in the mountains, in the groves or along the canal, the only limit will be your daring.

But first of all, take care to choose your equipment carefully. Today we offer you 4 tips to be perfectly equipped from head to toe, before going on an adventure.

The three-layer trick

To begin with, one of the golden rules of equipment for walkers in winter, is that of the three layers. The first one on edge, must be fitted, light and breathable in order to stay dry during exercise. The second layer should insulate from the cold. The ideal is to wear a long-sleeved swimsuit or a technical fleece. The first two layers should be tucked into the pants for better insulation. The third and final layer has the role of protect from cold, wind and rain while allowing the water vapor to escape. Remember to favor technical clothing, designed to meet both waterproofing and breathability requirements.

Winter walking and wellness

Warm legs

During the winter, the legs should be well protected from the cold to avoid stiffening the muscles. But they must also retain all their freedom of movement. Leggings and walking tights are perfect for this. Pair them with high socks that will protect the Achilles tendons, and you will reduce the risk of cold-related injuries.

Be well equipped for walking in winter

The ends well protected

Wearing a hat then limits the loss of body heat by almost 50%. So do not ignore the protection of the head during walking in winter. Hat, cap, fleece headband, neck warmer or muffler will be precious allies. They are easy to remove and tuck into the backpack if the weather turns warmer once on the trail. To protect the hands from the cold, there are all kinds of gloves. Favor waterproof gloves, because once wet the gloves lose all their effectiveness, and on the contrary maintain the feeling of cold.

Let yourself be conquered by walking in winter

A packed backpack

Finally, remember that during your winter walking in cold weather, the body has need more energy to maintain its temperature at 37 ° C. And contrary to popular belief, the body becomes dehydrated faster in winter. So never leave without a backpack filled with a gourd, dried fruits, a cereal bar, but also sunscreen, sunglasses, a small pharmacy and mobile phone to prevent help in case of difficulty. The bag will also accommodate unnecessary textiles during the ride if the weather permits!

Ready for winter walking

What about the shoes? Choose them according to your activity of the day. Walk, hike or trail ... The rule in winter is to choose them flexible, waterproof and breathable for optimal comfort.

Marche en hiver : 4 astuces pour s’équiper efficacement avant de partir

C’est officiel, le 21 décembre et sa nuit la plus longue nous ont fait basculer dans l’hiver ! Mais pas de quoi déprimer… Les jours commencent à rallonger, et les joies de la marche en hiver n’attendent que vous ! À condition bien sûr de ne pas faire l’impasse sur l’équipement.

L’hiver est une merveilleuse saison pour la marche et la randonnée. Les sentiers sont désertés, les sons sont étouffés par la neige, les paysages sont féériques, et au coeur d’une nature en dormance, nombreuses sont les occasions de goûter au privilège d’être enfin seul au monde. Alors pour garder le moral et prendre soin de sa santé avant le printemps, rien de tel qu’une marche sportive dans la fraîcheur hivernale. En forêt, en montagne, dans les bocages ou en bordure de canal, la seule limite sera votre audace.

Mais avant toute chose, prenez soin de choisir avec précaution votre équipement. Nous vous proposons aujourd’hui 4 conseils pour être parfaitement équipé de la tête aux pieds, avant de partir à l’aventure.

L’astuce des trois couches

Pour commencer, l’une des règles d’or de l’équipement des marcheurs en hiver, est celle des trois couches. La première à fleur de peau, doit être ajustée, légère et respirante afin de rester au sec pendant l’effort. La deuxième couche doit isoler du froid. L’idéal est de porter un maillot à manche longue ou une polaire technique. Les deux premières couches doivent être rentrées dans le pantalon pour une meilleure isolation. La troisième et dernière couche a pour rôle de protéger du froid, du vent et de la pluie tout en laissant évacuer la vapeur d’eau. Pensez à privilégier les vêtements techniques, conçus pour répondre à la fois aux exigences d’imperméabilité et de respirabilité.

Marche en hiver et bien-être

Des jambes bien au chaud

Pendant l’hiver, les jambes doivent être bien protégées du froid afin d’éviter le raidissement des muscles. Mais elles doivent également conserver toute leur liberté de mouvement. Les leggings et collants de marche sont parfaits pour cela. Associez-les à des chaussettes montantes qui protègeront les tendons d’Achille, et vous limiterez le risque de blessures liées au froid.

Bien s'équiper pour la marche en hiver

Les extrémités bien protégées

Porter un bonnet limite ensuite la perte de chaleur corporelle de près de 50%. Ne faites donc pas l’impasse sur la protection de la tête pendant la marche en hiver. Bonnet, casquette, bandeau polaire, tour de cou ou cache-nez seront des alliés précieux. Ils sont faciles à enlever et à enfouir dans le sac à dos si les températures se font plus clémentes une fois sur le sentier. Pour protéger les mains du froid, il existe toutes sortes de gants. Privilégier les gants imperméables, car une fois humides les gants perdent toute leur efficacité, et entretiennent au contraire la sensation de froid.

Se laisser conquérir par la marche en hiver

Un sac à dos garni

Pour finir, n’oubliez pas que pendant votre marche en hiver par grand froid, le corps a besoin de plus d’énergie pour maintenir sa température à 37°C. Et contrairement aux idées reçues, le corps se déshydrate plus vite en hiver. Ne partez donc jamais sans un sac à dos garni d’une gourde, de fruits secs, d’une barre de céréales, mais aussi de crème solaire, lunettes de soleil, petite pharmacie et téléphone portable pour prévenir les secours en cas de difficultés. Le sac accueillera également les textiles superflus au cours de la balade si la météo le permet !

Prêt pour la marche en hiver

Et pour les chaussures ? Choisissez-les en fonction de votre activité du jour. Marche, rando ou trail… La règle en hiver est de les choisir flexibles, imperméables et respirantes pour un confort optimal.

La rédaction