carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

10 outdoor personalities create the association "A bottle in the sea"

We all remember the impressive photos of Dom Daher, captured in a sorting center in Fréjus last January during the shock campaign “A bottle in the sea”. Outside magazine recently announced the follow-up to this awareness campaign. On July 17, the athletes who took part in the shooting decided to continue their commitment to the preservation of nature by creating the association A bottle in the sea.

Fin 2019, nine outdoor personalities responded to freeskier Mathieu Navillod's call to participate in a surprising photoshoot. Their common goal? Make as many people as possible aware of the consequences of pollution. The A Bottle by the Sea campaign was born. The trail runner Kilian Jornet, the climber Liv Sansoz, the freeskier Mathieu Navillod, the freediver Stephane Tourreau, the cyclist Laurie Renoton, the paraglider Romain Raisson, the skier Jean-Fred Chapuis, the mountaineer Zebulon, the waterman Rico leroy, the trail runner Emelie Forsberg met at the Sclavo Environnement Group's recycling center in Fréjus. They then lent themselves to an extraordinary shoot, under the lens of Dom Daher.

“Nature is their playground, their passion, but also their daily working environment, since they all practice these disciplines at a high level. The problem is in front of them, all the time. They are the key witnesses. Every day a little more, they see their environment deteriorating. Aware that in a consumer society like ours, no one is white as snow and that they too have an impact, they still cannot bring themselves to watch the blue planet become a little grayer every second. "

The success was immediate

Impossible to forget the images of Kilian Jornet running on a mountain of tires, Stephane Tourreau regaining the surface covered with plastic waste, or Mathieu Navillod skiing down the slopes of a mountain of garbage. A deliberately trashy shoot in the hope of a massive awareness and above all of a passage to action.

“With this campaign which tries to provide solutions without making people feel guilty, we want to give them the keys to save our house. "

 
 
 
 
 
See this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Kilian Jornet (@kilianjornet) le

An alarming finding

Interviewed by the media ninth-tenth, the athletes shared their approaches and their thoughts. The freediver Stephane Tourreau daily witnesses the degradation of the oceans, the accumulation of waste in the sea and "waves of plastics". For the waterman Rico leroy, the observation is the same. In the making-off video of the shooting, he shares his fears.

“340 days of the year, I am in the water. I see the place where I evolve changing. If we do nothing, it is in this environment that we will surf, run, ride in the years to come. "

 
 
 
 
 
See this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A publication shared by A bottle by the sea (@unebouteillealamer_asso) le

Carry out simple actions

Jean-Fred Chapuis notes that "people continue to throw their cigarette butts from the top of the chairlifts in winter". In summer, he fills a garbage bag while walking on the slopes. For him, “behaviors cannot change overnight, there will be inertia”, but he wants to believe in it and get involved. Romain Raisson is convinced by the importance of sorting and recycling waste. "You can't put dust under the carpet indefinitely out of laziness," he says. As for Emelie Forsberg which advocates a simple life as close as possible to nature, it can only make this fight for the preservation of nature its own.

“I think that all the good ideas, the smallest little gestures around ecology, sustainability are worth sharing. When we become aware of things, we pay more attention. Awareness is therefore a huge step. We can all do better, it must be seen in a positive way and not as a chore. "

 
 
 
 
 
See this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A publication shared by A bottle by the sea (@unebouteillealamer_asso) le

Go further

Aware that outdoor sports are particularly polluting and energy intensive, athletes want to act so that their practice is part of a thoughtful approach, with the greatest possible respect for our resources. According to Liv Sansoz, the problem is systemic, "but to do nothing is to be complicit". Kilian Jornet looks back on the frenzy that took hold of the outdoors a few years ago, and on the need to question ourselves in order to reinvent the practice of these sports.

“A few years ago, we took helicopters for filming, we traveled the planet in all directions by plane. A real heresy, with hindsight. But we can redeem ourselves and now is the time to do it. The question is: how to reduce this footprint? For my part, by reducing my comings and goings, by taking the train when possible, by eating vegetables from my garden, by having the most ecological home possible. "

On July 17, 2020, around fifteen people including the athletes present in Fréjus founded the association A bottle in the sea, in order to find concrete solutions so that professionals and practitioners of outdoor sports develop a more respectful approach to their environment.

10 personnalités de l’outdoor créent l’asso “Une bouteille à la mer”

Nous avons tous en mémoire les impressionnants clichés de Dom Daher, capturés dans un centre de tri à Fréjus en janvier dernier à l’occasion de la campagne choc “Une bouteille à la mer”. Le magazine Outside a récemment annoncé les suites de cette campagne de sensibilisation. Le 17 juillet dernier, les athlètes ayant participé au shooting ont en effet décidé de poursuivre leur engagement pour la préservation de la nature en créant l’association Une bouteille à la mer.

Fin 2019, neuf personnalités de l’outdoor ont répondu à l’appel du freeskieur Mathieu Navillod, pour participer à une séance photos surprenante. Leur objectif commun ? Sensibiliser le plus grand nombre aux conséquences de la pollution. La campagne Une bouteille à la mer naît alors. Le traileur Kilian Jornet, la grimpeuse Liv Sansoz, le freeskieur Mathieu Navillod, l’apnéiste Stéphane Tourreau, la cycliste Laurie Renoton, le parapentiste Romain Raisson, le skieur Jean-Fred Chapuis, l’alpiniste Zébulon, le waterman Rico Leroy, la traileuse Emelie Forsberg se sont donnés rendez-vous au pôle de recyclage du Groupe Sclavo Environnement à Fréjus. Ils se sont ensuite prêtés à un shooting hors du commun, sous l’objectif de Dom Daher.

“La nature est leur terrain de jeu, leur passion, mais aussi leur cadre de travail quotidien, puisque ces disciplines, ils les pratiquent tous à haut-niveau. Le problème est sous leurs yeux, en permanence. Ils en sont les témoins clé. Chaque jour un peu plus, ils voient leur environnement se dégrader. Conscients que dans une société de consommation comme la nôtre, personne n’est blanc comme neige et qu’eux aussi ont un impact, ils ne peuvent malgré tout se résoudre à regarder la planète bleue devenir chaque seconde un peu plus grise.”

Le succès a été immédiat

Impossible d’oublier les images de Kilian Jornet courant sur une montagne de pneus, de Stéphane Tourreau regagnant la surface couverte de déchets plastique, ou de Mathieu Navillod descendant à ski les pentes d’une montagne de déchets. Un shooting volontairement trash dans l’espoir d’une prise de conscience massive et surtout d’un passage à l’action.

“Avec cette campagne qui tente de donner des solutions sans culpabiliser les gens, on veut leur donner les clés pour sauver notre maison.”

 
 
 
 
 
Voir cette publication sur Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Une publication partagée par Kilian Jornet (@kilianjornet) le

Un constat alarmant

Interrogés par le média neuf-dixième, les sportifs ont partagé leurs démarches et leurs réflexions. L’apnéiste Stéphane Tourreau est témoin au quotidien de la dégradation des océans, de l’accumulation de déchets dans la mer et “des vagues de plastiques”. Pour le waterman Rico Leroy, le constat est le même. Dans le vidéo making-off du shooting, il partage ses craintes.

“340 jours de l’année, je suis dans l’eau. Je vois changer l’endroit où j’évolue. Si on ne fait rien, c’est dans ce milieu qu’on va surfer, courir, rouler dans les années futures.”

 
 
 
 
 
Voir cette publication sur Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Une publication partagée par Une bouteille à la mer (@unebouteillealamer_asso) le

Mener des actions simples

Jean-Fred Chapuis constate que “les gens continuent de jeter leurs mégots du haut des télésièges l’hiver”. L’été, il remplit un sac poubelle en se promenant sur les pistes. Pour lui, “les comportements ne peuvent pas changer du jour au lendemain, il y aura de l’inertie”, mais il a envie d’y croire et de s’engager. Romain Raisson est quant-à-lui convaincu par l’importance du tri et de la revalorisation des déchets. “On ne peut pas mettre indéfiniment la poussière sous le tapis par fainéantise”, affirme t-il. Quant à Emelie Forsberg qui prône une vie simple au plus proche de la nature, elle ne peut que faire sien ce combat pour la préservation de la nature.

“Je pense que toutes les bonnes idées, les moindres petits gestes autour de l’écologie, de la durabilité valent d’être partagés. Quand on prend conscience des choses, on fait plus attention. La prise de conscience est donc un pas énorme. On peut tous faire mieux, il faut l’envisager de façon positive et non pas comme une corvée.”

 
 
 
 
 
Voir cette publication sur Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Une publication partagée par Une bouteille à la mer (@unebouteillealamer_asso) le

Aller plus loin

Conscients que les sports outdoor sont particulièrement polluants et énergivores, les athlètes souhaitent agir pour que leur pratique s’inscrive dans une démarche réfléchie,  dans le plus grand respect possible de nos ressources. Selon Liv Sansoz, le problème est systémique, “mais ne rien faire, c’est être complice”. Kilian Jornet revient sur la frénésie qui s’est emparée de l’outdoor il y a quelques années, et sur la nécessité de se remettre en question afin de réinventer la pratique de ces sports.

“Il y a quelques années, on prenait des hélicos pour les tournages, on parcourait la planète dans tous les sens en avion. Une vraie hérésie, avec le recul. Mais on peut se racheter et c’est le moment de le faire. La question est : comment réduire cette empreinte ? Pour ma part, en réduisant mes allées et venues, en prenant le train quand c’est possible, en mangeant des légumes de mon jardin, en ayant l’habitation la plus écologique possible.”

Le 17 juillet 2020, une quinzaine de personnes dont les athlètes présents à Fréjus ont fondé l’association Une bouteille à la mer, afin de trouver des solutions concrètes pour que les professionnels et les pratiquants de sports outdoor développent une approche plus respectueuse de leur environnement.

La rédaction